In Retrospect: Venice

Gallery

Piazza San Marco Facade
January 30, 2014

Ah, Venice. Venezia. The name is derived from the ancient Veneti people who inhabited the region by the 10th century BC. Venice has been known as “La Dominante,” “Serenissima,” “Queen of the Adriatic,” “City of Water,” “City of Masks,” “City of Bridges,” “The Floating City,” and “City of Canals.”

The Grand Canal
January 30, 2014

This is, of course, none of the above, but a mere reproduction in the desert of Las Vegas Nevada.

Piazza San Marco
January 30, 2014

OK, I’m sure this could have passed for the real Piazza San Marco if I had cropped it so that the Mirage Hotel in the background wasn’t so obvious. Or if my Photoshop skills were up to the challenge. So, if you’re like me and have yet to visit the real Venice, then The Venetian Hotel will have to do. For now.

In Retrospect is an ongoing series of older photos from my archives, newly processed. I hope you enjoy the series as much as I enjoy revisiting the memories.

 

 

23 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Venice

  1. I’ve been to Venice. This is fascinating. Weird too. Like Toytown/ Lego Venice. I’ve heard about this but not seen any pictures of it before. Thank you for showing me what Venice SHOULD look like !!!

    Like

  2. That’s quite a reproduction, Emilio! I can’t imagine how much money was spent on this. I’ve never been to Venice unfortunately and never been to this, either. I especially like that first shot.

    janet

    Like

  3. Hilarious and gross at the same time! We were fortunate to have visited Venice for the first time in our lives last year. This looks like an upscale and bland facsimile of a historical city that bears the marks of history. I bet you get none of that sense of history here. It also looks like they have taken things that you find in different parts of the town and put it all in one place. Weird!

    Like

    1. Almost every hotel on the strip is an upscale and bland facsimile of somewhere else. We have no sense of history here because the old is constantly being torn down to make way for the new. And by old, I mean any building more than 10 years old. We have the Paris Hotel right next to the Venetian and across the street is the Monte Carlo and then New York New York.

      Like

    1. You should never get queasy thinking about the unseen. That’s what horror movies are made for. Anyway, I can guarantee the water at the Venetian Hotel here in Las Vegas doesn’t have anything living in the water. How do I know? The water is clear and not very deep

      Like

  4. Well like you say these images will have to do until we both get to visit the “Mother Land” Emilio 😀 I was all set to really let you have it for taking a trip to Italy without letting me know until I saw your Grand Canal image dated 2014. Wonderful images.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

