Conceived

Prompts and Challenges

OK, so this guy I follow, who uses the name Fandango, is a great writer. Usually funny with a twist. Anyway, he is attempting to start a writing challenge. He says “… I’m calling this prompt ‘Storytime.’ Each week I will ask you to tell a story about a specific topic. You can write about the actual event as it happened in real life, or you can create a fictional telling of that event. It’s your call… In recognition of the fact that I just conceived this prompt: Tell the story about the night (or day) you were conceived.”

And though I wanted to submit a photo, thankfully my parents did not believe in cameras in the bedroom. So, my take….

____________________________________________________________________

I liked this idea, though I am not crazy about visualizing the night I was conceived. I mean, you’re talking about my parents. That’s like bordering on the disgusting. Who wants to visualize their parents actually doing “it”? But I do have a story for you. And every word is true.

I was home from college for the summer. I think I was around 22 at the time, which would have my parents pushing 50.

I had been out to a movie. It’s late, all the lights in the house are out as I tiptoe towards my room in the back of the house. I hear a noise and stop. I can barely make out the voices of my parents. My mom is giggling like a much younger girl. At that point they have been married around 28, 29 years. Anyway, I figure they’re still wide awake so I walk down the hallway towards their bedroom. Their door is open, the lights are out, so I say, “Hi!”

My mom squeals, there’s a bit of rustling, then my dad yells, “The one night I get it up and he walks in!”

As I said, every word is true.

 

In Retrospect: Daniel WY

Gallery

US Post Office
Daniel WY
November 10, 2012

We were on our way to Jackson Wyoming where we were to spend a week in a rented log cabin in the woods.  We were traveling on US Route 189, a little used road that begins in Utah and ends in Wyoming. Lynn was driving and we had not seen another car for about an hour when, out of nowhere, a dark SUV came up behind us and flashed its lights. Red, then blue, then red again. Lynn pulled over and I asked how fast she was going. “Over 100”, she answered.

The Highway patrol officer smiled politely at her and asked, “Do you know why I pulled you over?”

“No, Sir,” she smiled back.

He asked for her license and registration. Well, I’m sure you know the routine. It took him less than 5 minutes to write the ticket.

“You might want to slow it down in the future,” he told her.

“It’s just so beautiful out here,” she said.

“Well, why not take your time to enjoy it?”

“Yes, sir.” She looked down at the ticket. He had written it up for 91 mph. “Thank you,” she smiled.

He gave her a strange smile back.

I did not get any shots of the beautiful countryside. It’s impossible to get anything in focus when your wife is speeding down the highway at over 100 mph. But we did stop in Daniel to stretch our legs and switch drivers.

That’s when I took these shots.

Gasoline and Motor Oil
Daniel WY
November 10, 2012