Textures

Prompts and Challenges

On one of our spontaneous day trips when neither of us have a clue where we are going or where we might end up, Lynn and I came upon this rock house named, coincidentally, Rock House, out in the middle of the Mojave National Preserve in California.

Rock House
Mojave National Preserve
July 2, 2017

 

Maybe too easy for The Daily Post Photo Challenge: Textures.

But, whatever works!

 

Rock House
Mojave National Preserve
July 2, 2017

 

If you were wondering how anyone could-or would want to-live in the remote desert that is now Mojave National Preserve, take a walk along the Rock Spring Loop to find some answers.

The Rock House was constructed by Bert Smith in 1929. He came to this area to recover from poison gas exposure suffered during World War I. Doctors told him he didn’t have long to live, but the dry desert air proved so beneficial to Smith’s health that he lived here for 25 more years! The second long-term resident was artist Carl Faber, who lived and worked at the rock house in the 1980s, selling his artwork to passing travelers.

Christina Mills
Park Ranger 

nps.gov

 

49 thoughts on “Textures

  1. The Mojave National Preserve is a cool place! I need to get back down there again! I love the old Train Depot. (Sucker for trains) Cool photos! Only thing missing is some big puffy clouds….oh yea, you’re in the Mojave National Preserve! LOL

    Like

  2. I love old structures like this and you captured the textures perfectly Emilio 🙂 This place seems like the fountain of youth, maybe I should move here.

    Like

    1. Sorry, but we’ve already laid claim to it. 😦 And it’s only one room, though large inside. Looks like it’s wired for electricity and has a fireplace. Not sure about toilet facilities, though.

      Like

      1. Me too – I only find them once in a while and when I do, I try my best to climb through a window or pry something open to get inside :)) This image is so pretty I think… and has a unique warmth as well~

        Liked by 1 person

        1. What is it with you women? My wife would do the same, climb through a window to get inside even if the place is posted. Me? I’m a law abiding citizen. I just give her the camera and tell her to bring me back something good! 🙂

          Like

          1. LOLOL 😛 … I’d love to do some abandoned break-ins with you, your wife (who sounds a lot like me in this way) and Joe G … I found an old shoe factory just outside of town with a fire escape that has my name written all over it!!

            Liked by 1 person

    1. My wife has always wanted to build a rock wall on our property. Imagine her delight when we found this place. She wants to live in it and I had to keep removing her from caressing the rocks so I could take the shot. Embarrassing!

      Like

  3. Lots of good, stony texture there. I really like the angle on the second photo.

    Well, I’m pretty sure I can guess why it’s Rock House. If there’s water nearby, there are worse places to live … as long as you are good with scorpions and snakes. I’m not good with either, so I’ll stay here and deal with wood rot and mosquitoes. And ants.

    Like

    1. There is water nearby. Underground springs. As for scorpions and snakes, I’ve been here 18 years and have seen no snakes and only one scorpion- which magically appeared in the house one night and I jumped like (no time for political correctness) a scared little girl onto the chair.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Sue. Maybe a wee bit isolated. And hot! There is a plaque onsite that says the second inhabitant, an artist, worked there and sold his paintings to passersby. But we saw only two other cars while we were there so how much could you sell?

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

