In Retrospect: Goldfield NV

Gallery

Welcome to Goldfield
May 15, 2016

The purpose of  Friday’s “In Retrospect” was to feature older photos from my archives that I had not previously posted. The question, then, is “how old is old?” These images are only a year and a few months old. But I had fun reworking them and hope you enjoy seeing them- one or two you might have seen before. But these are all newly processed. And all were taken during our second (or maybe it was our third) trip north to Goldfield Nevada.

Sunset Boulevard
May 15, 2016

Why do I call the above Sunset Boulevard? Because that’s the film in which Norma Desmond says “Alright, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up” and this looks just like one of the characters from Disney’s (Pixar’s) “Cars” waiting for their close-up. Look at that anthropomorphic face!

OK, so the first two shots I left the sky alone. But then I got crazy, I admit it.

Ford Model
May 15, 2016

The sky I added is subtle here. Just because. No real thought behind it. I just tried different clouds and decided this worked best with the deep rust of the car.

This next one I went a little crazy but love the way it turned out.

Sinking Like A Sunset
May 15, 2016

OK, this last one isn’t clouds at all. It’s a texture that I found but I think it works beautifully!

Riders On The Storm
May 15, 2016

 

31 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Goldfield NV

    1. Thanks, Mary. I always complain about the skies here in southern Nevada, always clear blue. But this past month we’ve had some beautiful skies. It’s just been so hot that I haven’t been able to get outside to shoot.

      Like

  1. Do you have Lightroom, Emilio? Is it an outright purchase or a monthly cost? I always wonder what shots look like before the processing (not just yours, but others as well.) So far, I’ve only used editing from Picasa, which is no longer supported or updated, Pixlr, and the like.

    janet

    Like

    1. Yes, Janet, I do my preliminary processing In Lightroom. Then I’ll use On1 or Topaz or Nik. It’s the subscription plan at $10 a month. I started out using Picasa and pixlr and one other when I first started.

      Like

  2. I like what you did to the skies subtly. Bit of a change of sky colour can change the overall warmth or coolness of a photo. So much land there in Nevada. So much room to grow…or so much room to just leave be, nature as it is 🙂

    Like

    1. They are building like crazy in and around Las Vegas. But go less than a half hour outside the city limits and there is no trace of man (nor woman) as far as the eye can see. That’s why we take weekend trips as often as possible. We need that space to re-energize.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lately I’ve been doing some photo rework as well. I’m sorry to hear NIK Tools are no longer supported. I just started using them a few months ago. I really like the shot of the old building!

    Like

    1. Thanks, John. Nik tools is still working for me, though I don’t use them that much. Lightroom is my goto app for processing and everything goes through there first. Then, if I want to play around, I usually use Topaz.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

