In Retrospect: Sedona AZ

Gallery
Cottonwood AZ
November 21, 2010
9:23 am

We had spent a couple of days at a bed and breakfast in Cottonwood AZ, about a half hour outside of Sedona. It had been lightly raining all night and as we started for home, we came upon this rainbow arch. Why did we stay in Cottonwood? Just check out the prices for a week’s stay anywhere in Sedona proper. I don’t even make that much money in a month!

We were on Route 89A, headed northeast towards Red Rock State Park. On the outskirts, the trees were singing in color.

Red Rock State Park AZ
November 11, 2010
10:10 am

A fine mist of rain started crawling over the cliffs.

Sedona AZ
November 21, 2010
10:24 am

And by the time we drove through Oak Creek Canyon, the snow started to fall.

Oak Creek AZ
November 21, 2010
12:17 pm

I used to tell everyone that Sedona is my most favorite place in the world. But it’s actually Red Rock State Park. Up until now, that is. I mean, maybe tomorrow (no, probably not tomorrow but one day, maybe soon) I’ll get to Machu Pichu and that will replace Red Rock State Park as my most favorite place in the entire world. Truth is, too many rich people have moved into the area of Red Rock for it to be my most favorite place much longer! Maybe rich people have moved into the area surrounding Machu Pichu, too. Maybe there are coffee shops and candy stores and souvenirs being hawked on street corners right now in Machu Pichu. Maybe there’s a huge cut-out of Harrison Ford in his Indiana Jones get-up that you can take selfies with for only 500 pesos.

But I like saying Machu Pichu. I always think I’m going to accidentally spit on someone when I say it. Not like Sedona. Sedona slides off the tongue like butter in your mouth. It’s a very polite sound. You can’t be polite saying Machu Pichu!

(This post was originally published in a slightly different form on October 25, 2014 under the tile Silent Saturday.)

 

51 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Sedona AZ

    1. Ticonderoga is a great word, too. And no real problem with spitting when you say it. I know there are Ticonderoga pencils, but isn’t that a tree, too? How about a cigar? “He chewed on the butt end of a Ticonderoga while the other end dropped a trail of white ash across the floor and smoke curled ever upwards”. Or something like that! 🙂

      Like

    1. Cottonwood was a really nondescript little town but the place we stayed at was comfortable enough and the breakfast was good. I can always enjoy myself in Sedona! But we also spent a couple of hours in Jerome, which is an interesting town overrun by tourists like us!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Stunning shots of Sedona, Emilio. What a treat to drive through, and also lucky to have spotted a rainbow. Machu Pichu. I think you’re right on it being a bit odd to pronounce. Try saying it fast ten times 😀

    Like

    1. Funny, I’ve been working on a book that I can’t seem to finish. Well, actually it’s finished but when I looked at printing, It’s way too expensive to go that route. An e-book is less expensive and I’ll probably have to do that, with a printed copy on demand only. It’s more like a coffee table book of photos.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. LOL. With my husband, the last place we visited was always more impressive than the present place, until the next place! As for Machu Pichu you may be right. I read an article where the popularity of Quinoa in the USA has enriched native Bolivans but cost upheaval in the culture (land wars, selling off llamas which negatively effected ecosystem and the kids now refusing to eat Quinoa – can’t say I blame the kids on that one).

    Like

    1. Yesterday my wife said the day trip we just took was the best for photos we had ever taken.. I had to remind her how that wasn’t quite true. But it was a pretty darn good day. As for quinoa, we don’t eat as much as we should but every time we have it, we enjoy it. It can make some great alternative hamburger type patties and meatless meatballs!

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

