Share Your World – June 26, 2017

Prompts and Challenges

What goal are you working on now? I do have lofty goals of saving the planet, but for now I have to be a bit more realistic and work on not causing bodily harm to any of my co-workers. I had my own office up until a week ago when our company downsized and I was relegated to a room with 4 cubicles. Laura wears too much perfume and is very loud when she talks on the phone or laughs. And she calls everyone “Sweety”! Tony introduced himself to me by stating, “I can be very loud. I’m Italian and have had a 40% hearing loss since I was a kid”. Heather asked me how to set up her phone and as I was trying to explain, she turned to Laura and asked if she knew how. Yes, it might be a bit difficult to stay out of jail this year.

What is one thing you’re glad you tried but would never do again? Online dating. I’m glad I tried it as that is how I met Lynn, my wife of 5 years now. But you have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your prince (or, in my case, princess). One such frog was a very attractive woman- at least based on the photo she had posted. She was dressed in pants and a silk blouse and lounging across a double bed. We set up a time to meet at a local Starbucks and, when I got there, the place was crowded and I couldn’t see her. Thinking I was stood up, I turned to leave, heard my name, and turned back around. There she was, looking like Miss Piggy from Sesame Street with dirty blond uncombed hair, a bit overweight, and wearing a mumu! Even a Caramel Cocoa Cluster Frappuccino couldn’t save that date.

Did you choose your profession or did it choose you? I chose this profession. Real Estate. But I found out I was not particularly adept at cold calls and trying to sell people a property that fell short of being the home of their dreams So property management chose me. I manage owner’s properties and find tenants for them, take care of all maintenance and repairs. And occasionally I sell. This is actually my third profession and will most probably be my last.

Have you ever gotten lost? All the time, but we call it exploring. The photo above was taken when we took a wrong turn down a side street in Mount Carmel, UT on the way home from vacation. I spent about two hours amongst the old homes and barns we found. Lynn sat in the car. Afterwards we found a local diner and had dinner. Don’t avoid local places. Sometimes you’ll get great food, sometimes a great story. Unfortunately, this place had neither.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? It hasn’t been a great week. This move was foisted upon us a few days before it actually happened. We’re all trying to adjust. On the plus side? I have Lynn who listens to me complain when I get home at night.

June 26, 2017

 

12 thoughts on “Share Your World – June 26, 2017

  1. Your office sounds like most of the places I’ve worked, including the government. People are off the wall nowadays. They are very immature and selfish and hard to work with. 30 years ago they would have fired these kinds of unprofessional people on the spot.

    Like

    1. Most of my working life I’ve had my own office, so it’s difficult working so closely with others. When anyone is on the phone, I go outside into the hall to talk to a client. So I can hear and so I can think!

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

