Share Your World – June 19, 2017

Prompts and Challenges

Mission San Juan Capistrano
June 3, 2017

What is something that people are obsessed with but you just don’t get the point of? Well, I’m glad you asked. Women seem to all be obsessed with me. It’s true! I don’t encourage such behavior. And I really don’t get the point of this obsession. I’m just a regular guy. I put my pants on one leg at a time. (Of course, those pants do tend to look better on me than on other people.) My wife doesn’t understand this obsession either, but then she is, of course, my wife!

What quirky things do people do where you are from? I’m not originally from Las Vegas but it seems to have been my home for much longer than I ever anticipated. Did you ever hear that quote, “Everybody complains about the weather, but nobody does anything about it”? Well, forget about all the backward steps that this administration is taking, I’m talking about the weather, a topic that seems to consume anyone from around here who has yet to embrace the heat. Yesterday, the high was 109 and this morning, when we awoke at 4:30 am because the dog needed to go outside, the temperature was 91. It did go down to 88 by 6:30, though, before starting its climb back up to 111 today, 115 tomorrow. Everybody talks about the weather!

What are some things you wish you could unlearn? I wish I could unlearn the false historical narrative that we were taught in school and from the movies, though I am sure all countries indoctrinate society to justify their abuse of native cultures.

Who is someone that you miss having in your life? I would love to say I miss my mother, father, and sister- and I do- but the first name that came to mind was that of my first love, whom I had lost touch with, then reconnected with some years later when I moved to Las Vegas and she lived in Los Angeles. We saw each other several times until she died quite suddenly in 2000.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? It is way too hot to get out with my camera so I’m not at all grateful that I won’t be able to get outside until autumn. Or whenever we travel out of state. But I’m alive and able to complain, so I’m happy.

Please check out Cee’s Share Your World to read more or join in!

22 thoughts on “Share Your World – June 19, 2017

    1. Well, to tell you the truth, once you hit 110, anything more is just overkill. You’re not going to sweat any more than you already do. But I forgot, girls don’t sweat! I’m sure that holds true for women, too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I think women seem to all be obsessed with you because you actually wear pants, I mean in the correct place you know above your waist (its a generational thing I guess) 🙂 This is an outstanding image Emilio the detail, composition and depth of field are amazing. You must have used the 10-24 on this shot. Spectacular work my friend.

    Like

    1. That’s not quite true, Joe. I do wear pants, but at my waist, not above it. of course, that’s assuming my wife lets me. Wear the pants, that is. And that photo…. The Mission San Juan Capistrano website states: “Photography for personal enjoyment is encouraged at the Mission. Still photography is permitted for private, noncommercial use only. Photographs cannot be published, sold, reproduced, transferred, distributed, or otherwise commercially exploited in any manner whatsoever.” Do you think posting an image here is breaking the law?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I Meant slightly above the waist not like William Frawley in the I Love Lucy show, LOL. I don’t think you are breaking the law in any way because your site is not for profit and it is your photo.

        Like

    1. Thanks, Joey. My pants are simple jeans. I stopped dressing for business about two or three years ago and no one has complained so I finally got rid of all my dressy pants. We have to go to a wedding in August and I wonder if my wife will say they’re OK to wear. We shall see.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ve got “too hot” and we’ve got “too wet,” but one way or the other, there aren’t any pictures getting taken this summer. No flowers in the garden either. We are getting a lot of stuff done, but not very photographic.

    Like

  3. Your photos, as always, are stunning! (Does the theme you are using have a search button hidden somewhere? I’d love to be able to browse your blog for specific locales!)

    We have been watching the temperatures climb in Phoenix. Fortunately we aren’t there, but our house is and SRP is kindly keeping us posted about how much electricity we are using to keep the inside temp a moderate 88 degrees!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Margy. At the bottom of the page is a + sign. Click on that and you will see a Search bar. I just tried it and it was working so, hopefully, you can find what you’re looking for. If not, please let me know. If it doesn’t work, please feel free to read them all.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Julie. I look forward to Mondays but sometimes feel like I should take a break, be serious once in awhile. Glad you like the image. You and a few other people have said I have a style. I never consciously try to process in any particular style. I just play around until I get something I like. But it’s pretty obvious what I like, I guess.

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

