Share Your World June 12, 2017

Prompts and Challenges

Torrey Pines Gliderport
San Diego CA
May 27, 2017

What do you do when you’re not working? If you are retired, what do you that is not part of your regular daytime routine? I will be retiring at the end of this year, but until then, when I am not working I am eating, sleeping, listening to music, watching movies, or playing on the computer. Oh yeah, or out shooting!

What would you do if you won the lottery? I will probably never win because I don’t play. But my wife does. Only when it is over $200 million. She feels it is not worth it for anything less. This from someone who has never gambled in her life and doesn’t consider the lottery as gambling. And since she never seems to have cash on her to actually buy a ticket, she borrows from me and never pays it back. That’s because I tell her not to in case she wins so she’ll split the money with me. But our plans are to help the people in our family who need it, then people not in our family who need it, then keep just enough to buy a jeep so we can explore off road and set off for parts unknown. We don’t need or want for much!

What makes you laugh the most? Lynn, my wife, does. We are always laughing together. Unless we’re not. We sometimes do have arguments- which are always my fault. Even when they’re not. There is a fine art to apologizing without admitting guilt, which I think I’m finally close to mastering.

What is your biggest pet peeve with modern technology? That I’m not modern. I can’t keep up. When I first purchased my iPhone, I had to ask a 13 year old girl to help me set it up. Now, I have to ask her younger brother, who is 7, to help me. She’s too busy thinking about boys!

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Lynn volunteered us to babysit last Saturday night. A 4 year old girl and her almost 2 year old brother. We had a ball. At the end of the evening we were all on the couch watching Toy Story 2 when the boy- whom I’d seen maybe twice in his entire life- crawled onto my ample belly and fell asleep. Guess I can’t honestly say I hate children anymore. Next week? I’m looking for another babysitting job!

Please visit Cee’s Share Your World for more answers to these probing questions. A new set of questions appear every Monday if you ever want to join in.

28 thoughts on “Share Your World June 12, 2017

  1. Babysitting is a lucrative business here in the Northeast- my niece who lives in NY was making $20 an hour!! My husband plays the lottery with the same thinking as Lynn 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m sure I could be fine with the phone if I liked it, but I really don’t like it. I can barely hear what anyone says and it isn’t that my hearing is that bad … it’s that the sound is so bad. Remember when you could HEAR phones? We have a couple in the house that are okay, but since the Blackberry went away, I haven’t had a cell phone with good sound. Why bother to use it otherwise? If I want to do computing things, I’ll use my computer.

    Like

    1. If I could go without my cell phone I would. But as long as I work, I still need it. But you’re right, most of the time you can’t hear the person on the other end too clearly. Remember the old tin can and string? Those didn’t work much better!

      Like

  3. Love your bonus answer, Emilio. Like you, we don’t need and want for much, and I don’t play lottery. 🙂 Except, I had to make iPhone and other gadgets work myself.

    Like

  4. You always have the best answers to questions Emilio. I’m proud to be included in your “needy friend” list just in case Lynn hits the jackpot 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

