In Retrospect: Beatty NV

Prompts and Challenges

Beatty NV
November 28, 2015

When I first posted this image on March 24, 2017, there was a tremendous uproar of approval and everybody wanted to know how I processed it. OK, there were 61 likes and 12 comments. But to me that’s significant! An uproar! Oh, yeah, and only two people wanted to know how I processed this shot. But two out of twelve. That’s 16.67%. Not bad. Not bad at all.

So, for Helen C and Julie@frogpondfarm this explanation is for you two. You’ve probably forgotten all about this but I didn’t. It’s been bugging me for over 2 months. Anybody else who would like to read along, feel free.

OK, so this is straight out of the camera- or as we professionals call it SOOC. For some reason, it was not shot in RAW but jpeg. I know, not very professional. But cut me some slack. I didn’t say a professional what!

SOOC

Now there wasn’t much color correcting to do because the camera had set that. But I did open up the shadows and add contrast. And clouds. I added clouds. And then I cropped it to 16X9 in Lightroom because I do that with most of my shots. I just like it.

Clouds and cropped

Now, here’s where it gets interesting. And technical. I’m not sure how much to tell you before your eyes start to glaze over so, if you want any info more specifically, ask nicely in the comments and I’ll try to answer. I brought down the overall exposure and added more contrast and clarity. Then I took down the saturation almost by half and added a split tone of sort of a golden hue to the highlights and a grayish brown shadow tint:

Additional Color Correcting
and
Split Tone

Then I sharpened the image and used a bit of noise reduction, then I added a post crop vignette, and then just a bit of haze overall:

Post Crop Vignette
and
Haze

And then, I added 3 radial filters for highlights; one is over the tires and part of the building on the left, one is almost dead center in the sky just over the roof, and the last is just under the overhang at the right corner of the building.

Radial Filter Highlights

And there you have it. Hope you weren’t too bored. Helen and Julie, I’m sorry this took so long. You both probably lost interest or forgot about it a long time ago! But I made a promise so, better late than never!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

32 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Beatty NV

  1. I remember that uproar like it was yesterday Emilio 😳 It was a great image SOOC but as usual you did a masterful job processing and enhancing it 👍

    Like

  2. We’ve been exchanging stuff for a long time. These things come up and I sometimes remember them. I remember them better than my OWN pictures. Probably says something good about your stuff and something unfortunate about mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think there’s anything unfortunate about your stuff. But your mind seems about as bad as my own! 🙂 Also, Lynn has been complaining lately that I always have the radio or the tv volume too loud. And she’s older than me. But I do think I’m losing some hearing, too!

      Like

        1. I still have to learn when to stop. Lately I’ve been processing, then stepping away for a day and coming back to see if I still like what I’ve done. I have one now that my wife likes but I feel is a bit overdone. Who will win???

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Emilio, I read about that uproar in the WP news. 😃I am very glad to know your post-processing flow on this image– excellent– and interesting to see it from original to artistic finish. Great post and and added bonus is that you always make me smile.

    Like

  4. Thanks for that great explanation Emilio. My work in lightroom is a little more limited and random! The slideshow is the perfect way to take us through the process. The radial filters made a huge difference

    Like

  5. Thank you so much, Emilio. I don’t know how to do all the editing steps you had done. I will google first and will come back if I can’t find answer myself. I don’t want to wait two more months. Ha ha.
    I didn’t forget about this. I was anxiously waiting at first. Then I thought it maybe one of those white promises (like white lies) so I let it go. After all, I want to be to a polite blogger 😉
    One thing clear to me is that I have to have a good photo to start with. Your before photo is very impressive too! And I admire how you take time to edit your photo (maybe… I didn’t spend enough time working on mine?) You added a Emilio flavor to it. Not sure I understand the purpose of applying radial filters. It seems to me that by doing so, you added some HDR effect to the photo. I will think hard on this one.
    I appreciate this post! Sorry for the late reply. We have visitors last week.
    Have a great evening.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Helen, for your thoughtful reply. The radial filters are to emphasize or make the lighting more interesting. Rather than all flat lighting, I add highlights and shadows where and when I feel they add something.

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

