Skies To Conquer

Gallery

I was just waiting for the right time to post this image, one of my favorites shot on Memorial Day weekend last month. I was waiting for a word prompt from someone, anyone. But no one was very helpful. So, I decided, why wait?

We were at the Riverside Memorial Cemetery at March Air Force Base and right next door was the March Field Air Museum. Just unbelievable, the array of planes and helicopters, about 60 in all.

This, if I’m not mistaken, is the Boeing B-17 Flying Fortress.

March Field Air Museum
May 27, 2017

“Souls of men dreaming of skies to conquer
Gave us wings ever to soar….”

The Air Force Song
Words and Music by Captain Robert Crawford

 

22 thoughts on “Skies To Conquer

  1. haha, I hear you (“waiting for a word prompt from someone, anyone..”) – same here. :-). beautiful image indeed. love the circle (whirpool), the shadow, the sky, impressive enough but not too much to take away attention from the star of the photo.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Klara. I enjoyed your comment, mostly because it’s positive. 😁 But I guess I should mention that the clouds were added, which my wife did not want me to do. And most of the time I listen to her.

      Like

  2. This is an amazing image and aircraft Emilio 🙂 I think it is a B-17. Could you imagine flying in one of these aircraft back in the day with the engines roaring. I think the noise of the engines was part of the intimidation factor.

    Like

    1. We live about 10 miles (as the crow flies) from Nellis AFB and are occasionally treated to the noise of fighter jets taking off and landing whenever their flight path is over our house. You can not talk on the phone or to each other when that happens. One day there was some kind of huge 4 prop plane that came by and the walls trembled. Deep and resonant and scary! I thought a truck was going to end up in our living room. I had no idea what the sound was.

      Like

  3. Excellent photo. A friend of mine, Paul Wagner, who was a B-17 pilot and flew 25 missions during WWII, wrote a book called “The Youngest Crew”. You might check a library in your area for a copy. It’s a great read if you are interested in first hand experiences with B-17s.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Excellent shot. Did you get a chance to climb inside the B-17 itself or were you only able to look at it from the outside?

    If you want to learn about the B-17s in the Pacific Theater, check out our book Ken’s Men Against the Empire, Volume I. Lots of stories and detailed information about the early B-17 variations and the men who flew them.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

