In Retrospect: Balboa Park CA

Gallery

Balboa Park
San Diego CA
January 31, 2015

This may be sacrilegious of me- after all, I was a contributor to Monochromia for several years- but I do not like black and white photos as a rule, just as I dislike images of flowers and pets. I find black and white very difficult to do well. The world is seen in color. End of discussion. And yet, when done well, black and white can heighten detail and mood. Now, I’m not saying the above is done well, but I do like it. And isn’t that what art is all about?

“I don’t know if it’s art, but I know that I like it!

~~Walt Disney~~

33 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Balboa Park CA

  1. “The world is seen in color. End of discussion. “….. NO, Emilio. That monochrome image is good. .And, dare I say it, I think you have liked some of my B&W images…..

    Like

    1. I was only being polite, Sue. 😉 But honestly, if I liked a b & w of yours, it’s because I liked it. End of discussion. I’m just saying I usually don’t like my photos in b & w because it’s harder for me to get it to where I like it. In fact, looking back at this image now, I’m pretty sure I could make it better. The original was just a sort of pinkish stone color so I went b & w. Oh, and thanks for the compliment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lets face it Emilio you do B&W and color superbly. I’m pretty much the opposite of you when it comes to preference, I enjoy B&W more simply because of what you already stated. B&W conveys textures and mood more efficiently than color – end of discussion 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Joe. But a lot of b & w seems to be done by converting from color and never taking into account anything further. No playing with light, texture, shadow, tone or contrast. I don’t know how much work you do on your b & w but I never seem to have that problem with your images. When I’m processing, maybe I’m easily distracted by color because I seem to work a lot harder on my b & w and I’m never satisfied. Including with this image.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Carolyn. Every time I complain, I get people like you telling me how great I am! 🙂 Maybe I should complain more often. But I was really only making an observation about b & w. A lot of b & w I see on wp seems to be done by simply letting the processing app convert to color and then it’s posted. No thought to anything else.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have just recently started another blog with mono images. Its a whole new learning curve for me, but I am really enjoying it. It does take work just like processing in color.

        Like

  3. I had the same exact thoughts about B&W as you. Recently I have changed my mind. I happens when I can’t get the colours to work in scene. B&W changes the mood.

    Like

  4. I like architecture, head & shoulder portraits, and a few other high def pictures in black & white. I don’t like it for landscape or nature. But it can be GREAT for skies with some clouds. You can really bring up the sky in black & white.

    This is great. Architecture! It works.

    Like

  5. It’s wonderfully dramatic in black and white. I’m not a huge fan either but I love this.
    Note- you’d better not visit mine today. It’s full of flowers 😦 😦

    Like

  6. Oh heck I’ll have to stop taking pics of flowers and pets! 😃 the world is colour .. but it can be so gorgeous or dramatic in mono, just like your pic here. Either way .. there is nothing like a great shot

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

