Share Your World – May 22, 2017

Gallery

Ruins of the original
Mission San Juan Capistrano CA
May 20, 2017

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? No one in my family was much of a traveler and, therefore, neither was I. Lynn traveled all over Europe and wants to show me some of the places she has been. But when I discovered original documents from when my grandparents and Uncle landed at Ellis Island, and read that they emigrated from Fontanarosa in Italy, I decided that would be the first place we visit! Lynn agreed.

How often do you get a haircut?  Once a month. There’s not much there but it grows quickly. OK, a little secret. No one knows except for Lynn. I am bald but have worn a hairpiece since about 1985 or 6. I can’t wait to finally shave my head and be done with it all. But while I still work I’d feel funny doing it and coming into work the next day totally bald.

In regards to puzzle what’s your choice: jigsaw, crossword, word search or numeric puzzles? I used to love doing the New York Times crossword puzzle every Sunday when I lived in New York. I would continue it throughout the week during my commute. I don’t know that I ever finished one!

How many cities have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities. OK, lets see. There’s Brooklyn NY where I was born. Then after that, different areas of the San Fernando Valley in Southern California. I went to college in San Francisco and lived there for 7 years, then Hollywood for about two years, then Long Beach NY and now Las Vegas.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? We went to Mission Viejo for a piano recital this weekend and I’m grateful that there were only about 35 students who played. Kids who ranged in age from about 7 to about 15. Mercifully, it was only 2 hours long. Next weekend I have all to myself. Lynn’s driving out to visit some people in California for the day and I plan to stay home and relax. Let’s see if that actually happens!

Thanks, as always, Cee!

25 thoughts on “Share Your World – May 22, 2017

  1. So far, the one common thing is that haircuts are not common amongst us, for one reason or another. Hmm. Love the mission. I think we visited that one when we were in the area, but it was a couple of decades ago and I don’t remember everything.

    Like

    1. I never felt like a real New Yorker. When we visited two years ago we went to places I’d never been before in my 25 years of living there. Like the Brooklyn Bridge and Little Italy and Central Park! I was a real tourist, if anything. I loved it!

      Like

  2. Shaving your head is not all it’s cracked up or be Emilio 😀 It’s a real pain because every couple of days you feel the stubble and have to shave it again. It’s at that you want to go to Fontanarosa to discover you roots. I would love to go to Italy one day. As much as I tried to convince Terry into moving somewhere in Europe we are probably going to sell the house and downsize to a condo. This way I can stay in New York and get it up the yin yang with paying taxes 😩

    Like

    1. Same here. We’ve been floating that idea around since we got married but because of this house being so far underwater, and family problems, we might not be able to retire abroad. Hey, how about if we ever do make it to Italy, we invite you two? Would Terry say no to me?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Let’s plan on doing it that sounds like a lot of fun. She will take a vacation there she just won’t move out of New York, LOL. Sometime in the future we should plan a trip.

        Like

  3. Going to Italy will be great, Emilio! I’m laughing about the piano recital. I took piano lessons for a long time and I hated recitals, not so much for length, but because I got so nervous. But I’ve been to several since and they can take forever!

    janet

    Like

    1. There was one young girl, maybe about 11 or twelve years old, who felt so bad about her performance that, when she bowed she kept looking down at the floor and then went back to her chair without looking at anybody, hunched shoulders. I wanted to find her when it was over and say something comforting but she had disappeared.

      Like

  4. Hope you get to Europe soon. How wonderful to visit the home of your ancestors. And in such a beautiful country.
    ( In my experience children’s violin recitals are even worse ! But dancing displays are worst of all)

    Like

      1. Indeed. I worked with deaf children for a while and for some unaccountable reason, someone had the idea of giving them violin lessons!!! It didn’t last long though. ( I’ll not let my two cats read what you wrote. The words “cat” and torture ” in the same sentence would horrify them ) 🐱🐱

        Liked by 1 person

  5. You haven’t moved very much. But you were smart you go to the western side of our country. 😀 Thanks so much for sharing this week. It was fun reading your responses.

    Like

    1. Well, that’s probably true, though there were quite a few places when I was growing up. I should have mentioned the dairy farm we lived across the street from and the smell but, in my haste, I forgot. And that’s a true story.

      Like

  6. Seeing Europe would be exciting – I hope you get to do that soon. I’m not a traveler myself, but I like looking at pictures 🙂 interesting about the hairpiece. I think out would be fun to totally change and freak your co-workers out (but I’m twisted like that). I haven’t shaved my head but I did straighten my curly hair a couple times. I was in the break room getting a snack and someone said hi and asked how long I’d been working there. I looked up and said seven years. She recognized my face and was embarrassed but I just laughed because I thought it was hilarious 🙂

    Like

    1. That would be funny. I go without the hair on weekends when I’m out and meet people I don’t know.And I don’t even think twice about it. I just have a small little hangup, I guess. One day soon I’ll get over it. I’ll have to. I’m starting to resent the cost involved.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

