In Retrospect: New York NY

Gallery

New York Public Library
December 15, 2015

Our flight was to take off for New York from Las Vegas around 10 pm, if I remember correctly. Due to a belligerent, and probably drunk, passenger on the arriving flight, we were not able to board until 3 in the morning, which has absolutely nothing to do with this photo. We were lucky enough to be staying with friends who lived on Fifth Avenue and 36th Street at the time. The public library was just up the avenue between 40th and 42nd Streets.

I loved this library. And I didn’t even see any books!

38 thoughts on “In Retrospect: New York NY

  1. The NY Public library is one gorgeous building and it looks like you are in the McGraw Rotunda which leads into two separate reading rooms Emilio 🙂 Any time I’m in NYC I take a trip to this magnificent building and also Bryant Park which is directly behind the library. Great image Emilio.

    Like

  2. In all of our travels we have never had an issue with a passenger, well other than a few who became very ill and one can’t blame them for that. Love the photo and perhaps most I love how photos remind us of these stories of our lives.

    Like

  3. Thank you for the flash-back memory, Emilio. My hubby and I were very young and very poor so for dates we’d go to this library or the museum in Manhattan. A token was all we needed to get us from Brooklyn to there. Walking holding hands was all we needed while in each others company. Good thing both of us were avid readers. We’d spend hours. You’ve captured the ambience so well.
    Isadora 😎

    Like

    1. Thanks, Isadora. I remember those days. While students in San Francisco, my girlfriend and I would hop on a bus, get off and hike up to Coit Tower, sit for hours looking out over the lights of the city, and eat sourdough bread and cheese.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds like you had the same budget we had. : )
        I still enjoy doing museums and libraries. They have beautiful architecture and knowledge.
        Now, I’ll have to add sour dough and cheese to my grocery list. I haven’t had that in a while. : )

        Like

        1. You have to go to San Francisco for real sourdough! And you have to be in your late teens, early twenties for it to be truly romantic. Although it couldn’t hurt to give it a try when you’r older and married. Except my wife is cutting down on dairy and carbs, two of my favorite food groups!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. We visited San Francisco a few years ago. You right … yummy. But, sadly, I’m with your wife … cutting out dairy and no breads(gluten) however, the handsome never-gain-any-weight hubby is going to enjoy my surprise when I bring it home. ~~~ : – )

            Like

  4. How wonderful to have a place to stay in the heart of it all, Emilio. Libraries, no matter whether as gorgeous as this one or not, are some of my favorite places, especially ones where I have a card. 🙂 That being said, “retrospect” is the way I like to see most big cities. 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    janet

    Like

    1. As I mentioned above, the people we were staying with recently moved to Los Angeles. So no more free room in NYC. I’m trying to get them to move back. So far, not much luck. Libraries and bookstores are some of my favorite places, too. Those and restaurants, too. I love to eat! 🙂

      Like

        1. I’ve only read Dragon Tattoo, not the other two. And only one Harry Hole, though I can’t remember the title. As for Eleanor Caton, I have not read her, but must say I am very upset that, when she stated the governments of Australia, Canada and New Zealand were countries led by “neo-liberal, profit-obsessed, very shallow, very money-hungry politicians…”, she did not add the United States!

          Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

