In Retrospect: Sloan NV

Gallery

Let me just say right now, these photos were not taken in Sloan NV. The factory was nestled into the foothills somewhat southeast of the town of Sloan. There is no town or city nearby. We went off road in our (now quite dead) 2006 Hyundai Sonata and saw metal shining up in the hills so went to discover the remains of a blacktopped road washed out in spots, and a metal gate preventing us from driving any further. If you know my wife at all by now, that inconsequential gate did little to deter her. She climbed over it and I followed behind, a lamb to the slaughter. See, I always imagine that a gate means “do not enter” or “go no further” and that 300 pound rednecks with guns- gender is as inconsequential as the gate- with rifles will instantly appear. They did not. The place was deserted.

So I am enjoying rediscovering older photos of mine and reprocessing them “in retrospect”. Hope you are, too.

“The undiscovered places that are interesting to me are these places that contain bits of our disappearing history, like a ghost town.”

Ransom Riggs

18 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Sloan NV

  1. Good morning, Emilio. First, I want to say it again: I truly admire your wife!
    As you probably have sensed that I really like your photos. And… I keep asking myself why 😉 I think it is the combination of the sharpness, light, composition and color. Among them, color is the most interesting part for me. That’s all I know so far. One day I will figure everything out.
    Have a great day.

    Like

    1. One day I will figure everything out, too. Until that day I’ll keep playing with all the elements you mention. As for my wife, I admire her, too. She’s the one who got me back into photography after a very long hiatus. And now she says she’s jealous that I spend so much time with this “mistress”! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lynn’s the more adventurous one of this team. I’m always trying to hold her back, and always losing. She’s had a great run of luck, finding out of the ways places for me to shoot!

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

