Share Your World – March 20, 2017

Gallery

Olvera Street
Los Angeles CA

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? I have repeated myself ad nauseum here, on my blog and in comments on other people’s blogs. My wife says I act as if I am 13 most of the time, and that works fine for me. I like being able to laugh at myself and others and sometimes maybe even comment on the absurdity all around us. And sometimes I like to be level headed and decisive. Wait, no, scratch that. I don’t like it but sometimes I have to do it. Especially in the business world. Then I’ll go home and vent, have a glass of wine, and revert to my 13 year old self once again. It’s harmless, and for the most part keeps me sane.

So, you’re on your way out and it’s raining. Do you know where your umbrella is or do you frantically search for it all over your apartment/house? Since moving out here to the desert southwest I have not seen an umbrella anywhere in my house. Since getting married I have not seen an umbrella anywhere in our house. But then again I can’t seem to find anything in our house since getting married so, who knows? How do people do it? Combine the contents of two homes into one? Considering the size of our individual homes when we married, our house today should be almost 4,000 s.f.

Do you recharge your energy by going out with friends for a good time or by spending with quiet time alone? We don’t have friends. We do everything by ourselves most of the time. If I need to recharge, it’s usually by myself. I’ll listen to classical music, or go out to Red Rock Canyon and sit on the side of the road with a view of the mountains and watch the low hanging clouds cling to the peaks. Most times recharging does not include photography or hiking but more like my own brand of introspection.

Name three things you and your spouse, partner or best friend  to have in common. My spouse, partner, and best friend are is my wife. We have love in common. She loves me and I love me. What more do we need? Of course, there are times when love is not enough. Sometimes I get on her nerves and sometimes I get on my own nerves. That’s when we separate and go recharge. As for three things in common? The love of the outdoors, the love of soothing music, and the love of words.

La Cienega Blvd.
Los Angeles CA
(half a block from where we are staying this week)

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I have spent the last 10 days in and out of work with some kind of intestinal distress. No idea whether it was food poisoning or a flu of some kind. But I felt good enough yesterday to drive into L. A. with Lynn and house sit for friends while they vacation in London. So I am looking forward to exploring in a different locale for once- though the weather is being less than desirable. Overcast and threatening rain today. We are looking into visiting the Holocaust museum, which is about 10 minutes away. Then lunch at Canter’s Kosher Deli. We shall see.

041514 sywbanner

Thanks to Cee for these great questions once again! Go see! Go join!

16 thoughts on “Share Your World – March 20, 2017

  1. The how old do you think you are issue is kind of irrelevant for most of us. 105 when I’m trying to get my aching bones out of bed. 12 when I’m giggling at a movie. Mentally I don’t I’ve ever been any age. I just sort of AM 🙂

    No umbrellas, either.

    Like

    1. I think we all share that same sense of age; that it is mostly irrelevant. I still can’t get over the fact that young people do not ask me to join them for lunch or drinks after work. Then I look in the mirror.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like both images but the first looks 3 dimensional Emilio 😀 I’m retired so I can always act like I’m 13 years old. Also you do have friends we just haven’t met in person yet !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you feel better soon. As long as I can avoid the mirror I am 35! Bill my spouse, partner best friend and I like to travel and watch movies together. I am grateful he carries my camera bag most if the time. Kind of a mom to the world, I recommend chicken soup and ginger tea for upset tummies.

    Like

    1. Can’t have chicken soup because I’m a vegetarian.But the ginger tea I have had several times. I fear this might be something more daunting as it began on the 10th and tomorrow will make it two weeks. And Bill sounds like a keeper! 🙂

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

