Those Were The Days

Gallery

Rancho Cucamonga CA
March 5, 2017

By the time you read this, we should be on our way to spending a week in L.A. A four and a half hour drive from home that can take upwards of 2 to 4 additional hours of road time depending on traffic. And there is always traffic in L.A. I grew up in the San Fernando Valley, not far from Universal Studios and just over the hill from Hollywood. Man, have things changed. Lots more people, more traffic, more crowded. The streets seem narrower now, and places where we used to play no longer exist, the little league field, the empty dirt lot near the railroad tracks. We used to walk up to the the boulevard where the Lankershim Theater was and spend all Saturday at a double feature matinee. We thought that was heaven. Our parents did, too, I’m sure.

So we will be house sitting for friends who are off to London for the week. Right on La Cienega Blvd. Close to the Jewish community near Fairfax and Melrose (Canter’s Delicatessen- the best Kosher Deli), not far from Olvera Street (a Mexican outdoor market- mostly for tourists now), and the Disney Concert Hall.

So if I am pretty absent for a few days, you’ll know why. Hopefully I’ll be out shooting!

34 thoughts on “Those Were The Days

    1. So far we’ve had fun. And frustration. One week is not long enough to explore around here. You can’t walk anywhere so it’s driving, then parking, driving and parking. Afraid I won’t have as many photos as I’d hoped. But L.A. isn’t going anywhere so I can always come back. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I’d stay in Yosemite, if I were you. I’m not a big city person- even if it’s only a city in the broadest sense of the word. Traffic and noise and high prices. But, other than that we’re having a great time! πŸ˜‰ You have fun, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I hope you and Lynn have a great time on your trip. When you said those were the days I thought you meant back when we had to walk to and from school in the snow uphill both ways πŸ˜€ But then again I remember when a ice cold bottle of Coke cost a quarter out of the vending machine and you had to drink it at the gas station so you could put the bottle back in the wooden Coke crate next to the vending machine so you wouldn’t have to pay a deposit fee.

    Like

    1. Joe, I grew up in Southern California. I never walked in the snow anywhere. We did, however, have to wear shorts in the heat when our classrooms were not air-conditioned. What a struggle that was. And we usually did not stop at only one bottle of ice cold Coke! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have family in Laguna Beach, Ca. I always enjoyed visiting but, I’m with you, it’s gotten so crowded. Traffic is a nightmare. I do enjoy going down Pacific Highway in my bother-in-laws vintage car with the hood down at midnight. Hey … have a pastrami on rye for me. My fav.
    Enjoy your vacation … have a great time …
    Isadora 😎

    Like

    1. We’re going down to the beach today. We’ve had clouds and rain all week.Lynn wants to see Venice Beach. I want to go to the Santa Monica Pier for photos. Pastrami and rye? We’re vegetarians! πŸ˜€ But we’ll have some rye. Rye toast and rye Whiskey! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Have a great trip, and lots of fun – be safe.

    The picture of the gas stations is great. I think you are the only one (I know here at WP) who uses photoshop (or whatever) in a way that makes me love the pictures more.

    Like

  4. Enjoy your time shooting in a new-ish locale. Great photo – even if I can’t help laugh inside at *Cucamongo*. Surely I’m not the only one who thinks of Bugs Bunny.

    {making a mental note …. Emilio house sits. Good to know!}

    Like

    1. Thanks, Robyn. We spent yesterday at the Getty museum and I have to start studying some of the great artist to understand how they used light and shadow. I have a new appreciation for Rembrandt!

      Like

      1. Oh how wonderful! The Masters really do teach us about the use of light and shade.
        Isnt Rembrandt amazing?! I was lucky enough to see an exhibition a few years ago. Mesmering stuff. Such talent.
        Check out Caravaggio too, for light and shade (chiaruscuro). Brilliant!

        Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

