In Retrospect: Kanosh UT

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges

Canon EOS Rebel T2i
1/4000 sec at f/4.0, ISO 1250
October 3, 2015

Let me explain what In Retrospect is. Or will be. On January 7, 2017 I had the brilliant idea to start a second blog called In Retrospect to highlight some of my older images. That idea was actually not so smart because I found there was no real need for a second blog. It just took additional time and the theme I chose never worked properly. So after one month, I shut it down. I will continue with my bright idea here, and will post every Saturday. The images will be from 2009 through 2015. But no later. For now.

So, Kanosh UT. Never heard of the place. Lynn and I were driving home from visiting relatives in Lehi UT through pouring rain, very limited visibility, when the clouds suddenly parted and golden light poured down upon us. My wife demanded we take the next exit off the freeway. All I wanted was to get home, but there is no arguing when your wife makes a demand.  Just past the off ramp, the paved country backroad became mud and dirt. We passed a pig farm, some abandoned, weather worn homes, then came upon two rusty old cars resting in an overgrown field. I jumped out of the car, camera in hand, as Lynn smiled and said, somewhat sarcastically, “Thank you wife!”

Thank you, wife!

34 thoughts on “In Retrospect: Kanosh UT

  1. Thank you both. 🙂 You certainly made the most of your opportunity! I prefer the idea of highlighting these older images on Saturday. Otherwise I’d feel the need to follow your new blog, adding another bit of time to view and comment.

    janet

    Like

  2. I’m loving your images and also the Diane Arbus quote at the top of your page. Just spent the last 30-40 minutes (can you believe it?) looking through your blogs, including the now defunct one), and decided I might as well sign on to follow. I’m already wishing you posted more often.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Trail. May I call you Trail for short? You have given me renewed inspiration. I was out this past weekend and will get something together, hopefully, in a day or two. This is about the best comment I’ve ever received and comes at a very opportune time as real life – apart from real photography- has been taking up more and more time. Thank you again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi. You may call me Trail, although I would prefer TW. I’m glad the timing of my coiner was helpful to you. I am looking forward to following your blog. By the way, a couple of years ago I ventured out to try a second blog. I couldn’t keep it up either, so I let go of it. 🙁

        Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

