Share Your World – January 30, 2017

Prompts and Challenges
A wall in Mandalay Bay Las Vegas NV December 8, 2016

A wall in Mandalay Bay
Las Vegas NV
December 8, 2016

(The photo above has absolutely nothing to do with the questions or answers below and probably should have been saved for Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge. But go visit Cee’s Share Your World for more sharing from other bloggers.)

What is the most incredible natural venue that you’ve ever seen in person? I want to say my wife but I think people are getting tired of that rote answer for almost every question. So it would have to be the Grand Canyon, when I first saw it I was around 24 years old. I had seen it in photos but really, you have to experience it in person. We happened to be there when no one else was around and came up to the edge of the cliff to look out over that expanse and I was just speechless. Awestruck. I have seen it about 4 more times since but it is impossible to recapture the feeling of that first time.

How many siblings do you have? I had a sister, but she died from lung cancer. She took up smoking at a very young age and, when she was eventually diagnosed, finally gave up smoking. Too little too late. She died 6 months later.

What’s your birth order? Well, if I had known I could order something, it would have been breast milk. But I was not breast fed as a baby and I think that’s where all my problems stem from. My mother did try to make it up to me afterwards by allowing me to order anything I wanted whenever we went out to eat, but at home it was whatever she was serving that night. And my mother was never the best of cooks.

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why? Now what kind of a question is this? Why would I want someone’s smelly feet inside of me? Gross. OK, wait. Is this supposed to be some kind of simile or metaphor or something? Let me think. The shoe would have to be comfortable, elegant, understated, dependable, in a basic color tone, though it could be trimmed in something a bit more flamboyant. Either that, or the Jordan 23 Breakout shoe!

What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten? Alligator. Well, it was either me or him. And truth be told, alligator DOES taste like chicken. Like tender white meat.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Grateful? I hate this question. I always feel like I have to come up with something earth-shattering or interesting. But honestly, I am simply grateful to wake up each morning and face another day. Looking forward to? Getting it right.

041514 sywbanner

38 thoughts on “Share Your World – January 30, 2017

    1. I’ve never had squid so I can’t compare it to alligator, unless squid tastes like chicken, too. Or maybe I actually did have crocodile and not alligator. It was at a now defunct restaurant so there’s no going back to check.

      Like

      1. Squid does definitely not taste like chicken! So there’s no need to try, most cooks prepare it wrong anyway.
        I adore that picture and the mural! Such a vivid fantasy, it’s just stunning! One thinks that it shouldn’t go well together to mix so different animals but somehow it does. 😄

        Like

  1. Our mothers must have gone to the same cooking school … horrible cook. My sister turned out to be a wonderful cook. Me, I don’t even try. Sorry to hear about your sister.

    Like

    1. My parents were both smokers but gave it up one night spontaneously when they both had colds. They didn’t smoke for the last few decades of their lives. My mom didn’t smoke for her last 20-30 years, my dad about 40 years.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Alligator. Wow! Would have never expected it to taste like chicken!

    I’m sorry to hear about your sister also… cancer is so heartbreaking. I must tell the husband to quit once and for all! He’s tried everything! *long sigh*

    Like

    1. I smoked for about ten years when I was younger. It’s tough to quit and for years I remember wanting one in the morning or if I was having a drink. But I don’t miss it now at all, even though sometimes it actually smells good to me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Did you quit cold turkey? I’ll admit, sometimes I’ll smoke socially, but I always feel terrible for it. I’ve made a vow to myself to stop, but not sure what to suggest to my husband. Its a tough habit to break!

        Well done to you quitting!

        Like

        1. I did quit cold turkey. It’s really tough. I don’t know what to suggest to your husband except that he’ll enjoy life a lot more without smoking. Easier breathing, you don’t smell like smoke all the time and you do taste food more.

          Like

  3. I want to stand on the edge of that Canyon someday! I don’t suppose it’s likely but I can dream. 🙂
    I liked the wall, and then I looked more closely??? 🙂
    Sorry about your sister. My own, half sister, died of a heart attack in her early 40s. Sobering! She was hugely overweight. Dad smoked (secretly some of the time, because he didn’t want us to worry 🙂 ) till he was 88! Not the cause of death 🙂
    Thank you for sharing. Life’s strange isn’t it? I wish I enjoyed to cook.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

