Share Your World – January 16, 2017

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges
On the side of a parking garage Fremont Street Las Vegas NV January 8, 2017

On the side of a parking garage
Fremont Street
Las Vegas NV
January 8, 2017

Do you sleep with your closet doors open or closed? When I was a kid, I slept with the closet doors open so I could see there was no one there. When I finally realized that I was having nightmares of my clothes coming to life and threatening me, the doors were closed and remain so to this day.

Do you take the shampoos and conditioner bottles from hotel? That’s what they’re there for, no? My mother used to always take ashtrays from hotel rooms when you could smoke in them. I guess that’s where I got it from. But then maybe it’s genetic. My sister used to take steak knives from restaurants because she didn’t have any. But she stopped when she got a full set. One time we were out for Mexican food and I commented on the Cholula hot sauce. She put it into her purse and gave it to me afterwards.

What is your usual bedtime? I’m trying to go to bed earlier so I can get up earlier. So far the earliest has been 9 pm so that I could get up and get out to take photos of the sunrise. But I slept through the entire morning.

Do you like to use post-it notes? No! I used to, but then forgot where I posted the note. Now all notes are on my phone. And then I forget where I put my phone.

When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone on paper? I honestly don’t remember. But then I’ve never really written a letter by computer, either. Little messages sent by email and now text. They’ve stopped teaching cursive in schools, I understand. Probably because of me .

Any phobias? Dozens. Insects bigger than my finger, clowns, doctors donning latex gloves, doctors dressed as clowns donning latex gloves….

How tall are you? At my prime I was exactly 6 feet tall. But it’s all been downhill since and now I’m only about 4′ 2″. Did you ever see The Incredible Shrinking Man? That, I fear, will be my fate.

What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? This is always a difficult question, to single out one moment from the past week. but I can certainly tell you what I am looking forward to in the week coming up. January 20, when Trump is finally sworn in as president and we stop looking towards the future with anxiety and fear. The future is now, folks. Anxiety and fear have been my constant companions since he won the election. Remember what I said above that I am afraid of clowns? I rest my case.

Please go visit Cee’s Share Your World to learn about some of the bloggers you might read. Better yet, why not join in and answer the questions yourself?

041514 sywbanner

28 thoughts on “Share Your World – January 16, 2017

  1. I hate doctors donning latex gloves also 😀
    I am so not looking forward to the next four years 🤡

    PS make sure you don’t feel both hands on your shoulders next exam 😳

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the laugh- love your answers. Reading about your sister and the knives and the ashtrays brought back a memory from close to 40 years ago- I was out with a make friend, nit a boyfriend just a friend at a restaurant in NYC(The Ginger Man) there was a small short vase on the table with a few flowers in it. I commented how pretty it was. We left to go to another restaurant for dessert, and upon sitting down, he pulls out the vase and puts it on the table. He had pocketed it and taken it with him. Thanks for the memory!!!!

    Like

  3. I think it is a mistake for them to stop teaching cursive. That is a fundamental tool to writing! Just think, they are going to one day realize they need to teach cursive and will start teaching it again and there will be 4 or 5 generations of people that don’t know how to write cursive! LOL! I would be afraid of a doctor dressed as a clown and wearing latex gloves too! Hahahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, watch those clothes. Invariably, at least once a week, no matter how much I check it, by the time I leave the house in the morning, my fly has opened wide. Now tell me that’s not weird.

      Like

  4. You had me giggling from beginning to end. Love your family’s hotel pilfering habits. We still teach cursive to kids in South Africa – don’t think it achieves anything – we should concentrate on keyboard skills – and Reading – Reading gets you everywhere. I am always amused when the older generation complain that kids are losing out on the lost art of penmanship and then find none of them have put pen to paper for decades.

    Like

  5. Imagine they really stop teaching cursive. I don’t think that would be good. It’s like teaching kids to use a calculator without teaching them math first.
    I had to laugh about your “ashtray” story, I had numerous ashtray souvenirs myself -back then when I still smoked.

    Like

  6. You live in the land of not so small crawling creatures. Scorpions are my nightmare critters. Well, and the big wolf spiders that live in the woods and the small brown recluse spiders that can kill you if they get you in just the right spot. Closet doors? I don’t worry unless they are full of spiders! I shouldn’t have let the image into my brain. Oy.

    Like

  7. You are hilarious! I couldn’t stop laughing .. tears! I’m still laughing! Slam that wardrobe door .. 😂 I used to worry about things under the bed! I still take the shampoo and conditioners .. but leave the knives. Ha ha

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

