Share Your World – January 2, 2017

Prompts and Challenges
Zion National Park UT January 2, 2017

Zion National Park UT
January 2, 2017

Would you prefer to receive a unicycle, bicycle, tricycle or motorcycle? You mean for free? Is that a kid’s tricycle? In that case I’d get the motorcycle, sell it, and get four unicycles, two bikes, one trike, and take the family out to dinner with the money left over. Little known fact: I used to have a motorcycle. But after two accidents- neither of which was my fault- I no longer harbor the urge to ride.

What is one thing you’d like to accomplish this year? Finish my novel. The one I’m reading!

What was one of the highlights of 2016 for you? That it’s over! I was really getting annoyed by the ever growing list of who died in 2016. Now we can get on to a more important list; like who dies in 2017.

Would you prefer to fly a kite or fly in a hot air balloon? I love hot air balloons- as long as I’m on the ground watching them. You will never get me up in one. I also said that when I first saw an airplane, that I would never fly in one, so take that with a grain of Celtic sea salt!

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Lynn and I both fell asleep on the couch by 9 pm on New Year’s Eve as we attempted to watch Cleopatra. We had no idea it was a 4 hour movie. That has nothing to do with what I am grateful for from last week, I just needed a moment to think. I can tell you I am grateful that I have a friend who loves purchasing new cameras and is always offering me his duplicate lenses for drastically reduced prices. And I won’t tell you his name or his prices might go up in the future. I just bought a Fujinon 10-24 lens (see the photo above) and I love it. Thanks, Joe! Oops, no, his name’s not Joe. It’s… Marvin. Marvin Goldblatz. But we call him Marv for short. Sometimes Goldy! Looking forward to next week? Taking more photos. (I’m so predictable.)

And I’m grateful that Cee of Cee’s Photography came up with such a fun challenge and posts a new one each Monday. I always look forward to having fun with my answers. Hope you have fun reading them, too.

44 thoughts on “Share Your World – January 2, 2017

  1. Breathtaking photo! I took an ill fated road trip to with my dad and his wife to Zion almost 20 years ago. In a nutshell, she was feeling particularly disgruntled and refused to get out of the car. I think I should write a separate blog called “I have a story for everywhere you’ve been.” LOL…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bahahaha I love your answers Emilio 🙂 Oh by the way you’re welcome (your friend Marvin). I’m loving the images that you are taking with this lens.

    Like

  3. Cleopatra could be marketed as a sleeping drug to counter the scourge of insomnia. I have never made it past the first hour and neither has Garry … and we have tried. More than once. The back story is SO much better than the movie.

    I’m still a daredevil about anything that doesn’t require me to jump off a high place into space. That’s where I draw the line. But I suppose I might be coaxed into that too. I’m just crazy for that adrenaline rush!

    Happy-New-Year-Finally-OVER!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Well we made it further than you. We watched one hour, then ate dinner, then went back to it. And that’s when we both fell asleep. In my defense, Lynn picked it. I just gave her the list of what Netflix considers classic movies and that’s what she came up with.

    Like

  5. I’m with you on the hot air balloon, Emilio…or not on it, just taking shots from good old terra firma! We also had a very low-key New Year’s Eve and I’m fine with that. I needed the sleep. I’ll keep Cleopatra in mind for future nights when I need to get to sleep, so thanks for that. I think this photo is my favorite of yours, at least of those in recent memory. It’s just beautiful.

    janet

    Like

    1. Thanks, Janet. I love watching the balloons but will admit to feeling a bit fearful! Funny thing is that Mesquite- which is a town about 80 miles north of us, has an annual hot air balloon festival (January 20-22 this year). I’ve gone in 2014 and 2016 and both times the balloons couldn’t take off due to high winds. I might stop by again this year to see if they actually make it this time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There are 4 artists in residences for this park. I’ve requested to be put on their mailing list for the application for 2018. Going there in advance of making the application in July would be a good idea.
        Thank you for the information.

        Like

  6. I went in a hot air balloon once … but I didn’t have a camera, and without photographic evidence, I might as well have stayed at home. It was a pretty tame experience – at least until the following week when I read about 12 people killed in a hot air balloon fire. Now I’m thinking terra firma isn’t such a bad place to be.

    It’s a stunning photo, Emilio. *Marvin* is a very good friend 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

