Share Your World – 2016 Week 51 – Favorite Holiday Edition

Prompts and Challenges

holidays-1-of-1

What is your favorite holiday? If I had to choose between the jazz singer Billie Holiday and the actress Judy Holliday, it would be a difficult decision. They are so diametrically opposed to each other. Billie is darkness and sings about heartbreak and loneliness and even despair. Judy is all light and laughter and happy endings.

What types of food is associated with your holiday?  I guess when watching a Judy Holliday movie, it would be popcorn with lots of butter and salt. With Billie Holiday’s music you can’t eat. You drink. Usually whiskey, maybe bourbon or even gin. But never vodka.

Do you travel for your holiday? There was a time that I might have. But now, they are both long deceased. There are plenty of recordings, though. I can listen to Billie on cd, or watch Judy on dvd. Both in the privacy of my own home.

Is it a religious or spiritual holiday? I would imagine neither was very religious, though I could be wrong. I’m not sure Billie Holiday ever sang spirituals and I’m positive Judy never did.

Is there a gift exchange? A gift exchange? No. I bought every cd or dvd on my own. No one ever gave me one as a gift.

How long does the celebration last? Most no longer celebrate Judy Holliday, though she starred in so many classic films like Bells Are Ringing, The Solid Gold Cadillac, Adam’s Rib, Born Yesterday. Billie Holiday is celebrated by black soulful singers even to this day. You can hear her influence in many of the songs by Erykah Badu

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful that I successfully avoided going shopping in stores or online for Christmas and I will be thankful when all the hoopla is over. Let’s get out on the streets and help the homeless with a few dollars or a gift card for food or a warm blanket. Go through your closets and find shoes and clothes that you no longer wear and instead of giving them to the salvation Army or whatever, give then directly to the people who could benefit from them.

041514 sywbanner

And thanks Cee, for your questions this week. I hope I haven’t turned this into too much of a downer for anyone who has read this.

28 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 51 – Favorite Holiday Edition

  1. Two of my favorite ladies and certainly worth celebrating. I’m glad you don’t feel obliged to honor Billie by using the drugs, too. That would perhaps be above and beyond.

    Both women shared an early demise, Judy from breast cancer and Billie from life too much lived.

    Like

  2. Well done, Emilio. 🙂 In the season of holly-days (or maybe dazes) you made us a gift of humor. I love Christmas, but we like to do things like those you’re talking about. We have a very little, and not registered, charity, https://2wheels2kids.wordpress.com/, and we give new bikes to children whose parents can’t afford them. One woman has contributed enough money for a bike for the last several years and one of our daughters is giving towards on this year, too. It’s so rewarding to deliver the bikes and see the excitement on the faces of the children…and also those of the parents. It’s what make the holy-days special. Merry Christmas to you and your wife.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Clever take on the holiday question (clearly not what they were expecting based on the follow up questions, haha). We should be generous year round, but I like that this time of year seems to bring that out in people. I agree with your suggestion. My goal for 2017 is to extend the caring throughout the entire year because needs exist all the time- not just around Christmas.

    Like

  4. So funny and clever! I Love Billy Holiday but never heard of Judy Holliday… Also love your very inspiring message on giving less to ourselves and more to those in need. Happy Holidays (Billy and Judy, of course)! 😉

    Like

  5. Nice twist on the ‘holidays’ theme 😉
    Anything that takes commercialization and materialism out of this time of year is a good thing.
    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

