Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 49

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges
Lou Ruvo Center For Brain Health Las Vegas NV December 3, 2016 6:01 am

Lou Ruvo Center For Brain Health
Las Vegas NV
December 3, 2016
6:01 am

What do you value most in a friendship? A woman. Now, I don’t mean anything sexist by that. But I am sexist. Against men. I have never had a really close friendship with a guy when growing up. All my closest friends were girls. They were just easier to talk to about sensitive things like feelings. I think that’s why most people thought I was gay when I was in high school. Well that and being in the drama club.

Do you prefer eating the frosting of the cake or the cupcake first?  Do you prefer a specific flavor? When I ate cake, I would usually eat the cake and the frosting at the same time. And chocolate is (was) my flavor. Since cutting out as much sugar as possible in my diet, the only chocolate I get is if I order a mixed drink with creme de cacao.

Have you ever been in a submarine?  If you haven’t, would you want to? I do remember being in a submarine in Disneyworld once. Does that count?

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours? I don’t think I could find anyone leading a more satisfying life than mine right now. No one’s life is perfect, but mine is definitely satisfying. Well, except for having to put up with that damn dog!

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? This past weekend, my wife went away for the day. Now, that in itself is not why I am grateful. But, because I woke up at 5 on Saturday morning, alone, I got out of bed, showered, dressed, and got out of the house by 5:19 am. With my camera. It was still dark out but, by the time I decided where I was going, the sun was already starting to turn the black sky to blue. And it was freezing out. And yet I felt so alive. The photo above is one I took of the Lou Ruvo Center For Brain Health in downtown Las Vegas. The colors have not been manipulated in any way. The structure is all silver, lit only by the existing streetlights. The interior lights are all purple. What a sight! Just beautiful.

Now please go visit Cee’s Share Your World post to read what others find satisfying.

041514 sywbanner

54 thoughts on “Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 49

  1. What a strange structure. It looks like my brain on … well … not coffee, anyhow.

    I don’t like frosting of any flavor. I scrape off the frosting and eat the cake. Except for whipped cream. That’s no frosting. That’s whipped cream.

    I’m very eclectic about friends. I have men, women, and other. In a wide range of colors and sizes. But none of them voted for Trump.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing image and structure Emilio 🙂 I remember a B&W image of this same building (more tightly cropped) that you posted on Monochromia about 2 years ago. I was impressed with the image in B&W and even more impressed in color. Outstanding work.

    Like

  3. I was out early, too, Emilio, but to a snow-filled park. Nothing like this beautifully interesting building. When I grew up, almost all my friends were guys. As a tomboy, I had more in common with them. I was more interested in many of the things they were than the traditional “girl” things.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel like it could have snowed that morning, it was so cold. But the skies were clear. My problem as a child was that I was always “sensitive”. It drove my father crazy as he was an ex-army, machinist. I grew up pretty lonely and alone because we moved around a lot. I was never, and still am not, interested in sports, though I played Tennis for many years. I guess I over-compensated by driving a motorcycle and dating a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What an awesome building, I love it. I just had to look it up to see who the architect was. Beautiful captured, and it seems like they change the colours in the windows if you check google for more photos. He ( Frank Gehry) sure made several great and outstanding buildings. This one was one of my favourites:

    Like

    1. I knew it was designed by Gehry but had no idea about the changing of the colored lights. I wonder if it’s just the processing because I couldn’t find any confirmation on it. I’ll have to return from time to time to see if they are actually changed. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great shot, Emilio…Centre for Brain Health….does that mean we should all be dressing in purple, decorate our rooms in purple?? Even listen to Deep Purple.?

    Like

  6. That is a beautiful photo and quite an interesting building with purple lights. When I was younger I got along much better with boys, even though I am terrible at sports. I think mostly because they didn’t discuss feelings and didn’t bitch and hold grudges or force me to play Barbies. My husband and I were friends for over a decade before we upped the relationship, after he had to listen to me moan about all my bad boyfriends.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great photo and interesting building. Considered it is a brain health center I would like to have a chat with the architect and ask her/him why that choice. Is it the representation of our inner thoughts or brain inner structure?
    Anyway, the colors are amazing. And thinking the pic was not manipulated, it becomes also more interesting, I wish I could see it once in the flesh. It is really stunning. And great photographers can create to us viewers the sensation to be there… at 6.01 am 😱

    Like

    1. The architect is Frank Gehry. Look up his work. Very odd. He was probably chosen because, as you suggest, the design could be a representation of our inner thoughts. That’s what I think, too. I got a glimpse of it last night while driving on the freeway and the lights looked more red this time. So maybe they do change.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Just visited his website! He is great! There are some of his works here in Europe too 😊 so I’ve got the chance to see them in the flesh

        Like

  8. I’m slowly catching up on reading blogs here. That is a cool looking building, but it makes me think something is wrong with my brain (okay, I know there is! ) I’m not a fan of cake or frosting but if forced (you know, by twisted arm or at gunpoint) I’d choose the cake… especially if chocolate 🙂

    Like

  9. 😀 I think something is wrong with my brain, too. But I’m able to function most of the time. Cake really doesn’t entice me much anymore since I cut out sugar in my diet. But like you, if someone actually twisted my arm, I’d have a piece of chocolate. With coffee.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

