Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – November 2016

Prompts and Challenges
changing-seasons-11-1-of-1

November at Calico Basin

November means autumn for most of the United States, with winter breathing down its collective neck. Here in Las Vegas it usually means more of the same blue skies but with cooling temperatures. This year was only slightly different. We were enjoying 70 to 80 degree temperatures for a week or two when autumn really hit . Temperatures dropped into the high 50’s, low 60’s. And tomorrow is even better. Rain.

The image above was taken the day temperatures first dipped and the skies grew ugly- which, to me, is beautiful. I mean, come on. Who doesn’t like a cloudy sky? I was already late to work the morning I saw clouds over Calico Basin and I thought, what’s an extra hour late? So I took a detour. This is a two image pano of the basin, facing southwest, taken for Cardinal Guzman’s year long challenge You can read about it here.

And now, as is customary, a slideshow for your viewing pleasure.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

23 thoughts on “Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – November 2016

  1. When I lived in a desert, I really missed the changing seasons. Now, I wouldn’t mind the desert, though I would definitely miss the autumn. And probably, the rivers. But I might be able to compensate with your magnificent big sky!

    Like

  2. At the beginning of the year, you thought there wouldn’t be much variation through the seasons in the desert. I’m glad you decided to participate in the seasons challenge anyway, because your photo gallery tells a different story. I’ve scrolled through the gallery a couple of times and the sky has it!

    Like

    1. Clouds are my favorite. If I have clear skies, chances are I will add a clouds. But in this challenge I thought it wouldn’t be right. So every sky is natural! πŸ™‚ And thanks for the comment that all my images are great. You should see what I’ve tossed out! πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Hi, Jude. We did find the rain and the snow. We followed the clouds until it started raining. Then the rain cleared and there was a complete arc of a rainbow. Then we drove up into the mountains and found snow. Coming down off the mountain we had an unbelievably beautiful sunset. What a day to be alive! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

