Share Your World – 2016 Week 46

Prompts and Challenges

dscf9974-edit-edit

Are you a traveler or a homebody? My wife, Lynn, is a traveler. I’m a homebody. If I ever want to be with her, I have to find her, or go with her. It’s a lot easier just to go with her. In 2010, she talked me into buying a camera. Since then, you can’t keep me home and now, every weekend, we take a day trip looking for photo opportunities. The image above was taken this past Saturday in Amargosa, CA.

What kind of TV commercial would you like to make? Describe it. This is a funny question since, when I lived in New York, I worked as a commercial film editor. I cut commercials for Mercedes-Benz, Coca-Cola, Johnson & Johnson Baby Diapers, Red Door, White Diamonds. And For The Donald. For his Trump Taj Mahal. Sounds like quite the life, but working with creatives from ad agencies is not much fun.

Describe yourself in a word that starts with the first letter of your name. One word? I don’t think I can do it. My vocabulary stops at the letter D.

List some fun things for a rainy day. Singing and dancing in the rain. And if Lynn refuses to sing and dance, I’ll watch a movie or read a book.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m just grateful that last week is over. I’m looking forward to everyone putting on their grown-up panties and boxers (or briefs) and dealing with this mess, now.

041514 sywbanner

Share Your World rules and regulations:

Cee posts four different questions each week for you to answer.  There are two ways which you can participate.

  1. Create a SYW  post.  Then post the link to your blog in her comment box or leave your answers in the comments box of her blog.
  2. To make it easy for others to check out your photos, title your blog post “Share Your World” or “SYW” tag.
  3. Remember to Follow Cee’s Blog to get your weekly reminders.

 

47 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 46

    1. I’m pretty much the same. I have to fight with myself when I’m alone to go somewhere. Saturday I was alone and got in the car at the last minute, not knowing where I’d end up. This weekend I have Sunday to myself. But I have plans to go downtown and do some architectural or street photography

      Like

  1. Great shot Emilio. I’m a homebody but also enjoy getting out and about for new photo ops. I’m grateful for having won a lawsuit that will remove erase$98.000 of debt from my life!

    Like

  2. “Sing and dance in the rain, and if Lyne refuses to dance I’ll watch a movie or read a book” LMAO. Oh boy are you in deep doo ! Great image Emilio 😀

    Like

  3. I’m both a homebody and a traveler and I love the answer to the bonus question. I actually did a long and serious post about the post-election today. Forgot to mention I liked learning about your advertising history.

    janet

    Like

    1. I have no great stories about Trump. I did get to meet Elizabeth Taylor once. She was the spokesperson for White Diamonds. I’ve got to get over and read your post, though I was sick and tired of the election even before the actual election!

      Like

  4. A very interesting career you’ve had, Emilio. Thanks for sharing these little snippets with us all. Makes the world right now feel that little bit more human. I never want to hear about the recent election and its tragic outcome ever again if I can help it, but I like the rest of the U.S. is just going to have to suck it up and deal with it.
    Fabulous photo as ever. You have a great way of capturing a sense of visual narrative in your images.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Maria. I think I’m going to frame this comment for my wall. It would be great if we didn’t have to hear about the election or its results ever again. But that seems to be the only thing happening in the news right now. No matter which side you were on, you’ve got to be tired of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Honestly, in terms of politics, both here and in the UK, and with regards to many of the tragic events that have actually reached media news, this year has been exhausting.
        I admit I’m a natural born optimist with a mindset that there is always a resolution to all problems, however when I see that many haven’t even progressed beyond chasing their own shadows, I kind of throw my hands in the air in abject frustration.
        As for me and the news, we don’t spend too much time together anymore.

        Like

  5. It does look like it would fit right in to the types of buildings you will see on Route 66, but Amargosa is at Death Valley Junction, about 150 miles from the nearest point of Route 66. Then again, the weather is about the same and would probably affect these old building quite the same. I love finding old deserted buildings and wish these were not fenced off.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Julie. The creatives loved to steal ideas from other commercials. Very creative! And like you, I will follow my camera anywhere. We’re trying to figure out where the camera wants to go today but not having much luck.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep asking if I can take pictures of her but she refuses. Says she hates photos of herself. What is wrong with women? They take hours working on themselves then don’t want anyone to look! Not that she has to take hours, mind you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Enjoyed your answers, and getting back to the photo – I love the way the two structures give a sense of balance in the frame – makes you
    Want to walk right in….

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

