Share Your World – 2016 Week 44

Prompts and Challenges
See below for a black and white rendition of this same image.

See below for a black and white rendition of this same image.

What was your favorite subject in school? Anatomy. Actually that wasn’t a subject in school, but after school, with which I was consumed throughout my formative years. I used to sneak Playboy magazines into my room and hide them under my mattress until I found out my father was finding and reading them. It sort of took the excitement out of it to share a hobby like that with one’s father.

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for two hours, what would you have them do? Tickle my wife’s back. She loves a soft feathery touch all across her back. I just don’t have the stamina for it. Every time I’m done she calls for more. But if I did have a servant, it would not- could not- be a man. I don’t want anyone with rippling biceps around my wife. No, I’m not jealous. I just don’t want her getting any ideas.

Where did you live when you were in the third grade of school?  Is it the same place or town you live now? No. When I was in the third grade we lived in an apartment in the San Fernando Valley in Southern California, across from a dairy farm. The smell of cow manure is an odor you never quite get over.

In your opinion, list some places that are great for shopping? The internet is the best place for shopping. You can get anything there. Why waste time and gas driving to a shopping center and fighting the crowds?

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week we had a great holiday. But we also found out I was a victim of identity fraud and I will probably be sorting through all the paperwork I now have to attend to through the following week. I’ve had to contact my bank, the police, the IRS, Social Security, all 3 credit bureaus, the post office, rent a private mail box and change my mailing address with everyone. Neat, right? 🙂

The photos above and below are specifically for Stacy of Visual Venturing who thought maybe we didn’t really see any bison on our vacation last week. But the main draw of Zion Mountain Ranch where we stayed, besides having some great cabins,was having their own bison herd that freely roam the grounds.

And thanks once again to Cee for letting me and anyone else who wants to contribute, to Share Your World.

This is a black and white version of the color photo that kicked off this post.

This is a black and white version of the color photo that kicked off this post.

Please check out Cee's Share Your World for more answers to these earth shattering questions.

Please check out Cee’s Share Your World for more answers to these earth shattering questions.

33 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 44

  1. Thanks for that shout out, Emilio 🙂 This is a fantastic photo!! While I really liked the photo with just the truck, the addition of the bison just adds a wonderful layer of unexpected interest that creates an unforgettable image. And your processing is perfect for this scene.

    Now, to your ID theft. At first I thought you were going to tie it into your “reveal” and make some crazy joke, in true Emilio style. So sorry to hear it’s the real thing. Ugh!! Fingers crossed it’s not as incredibly dreadful as it sounds.

    Like

  2. Oh dear identity fraud! I’m so sorry to hear that. Dave had that happen to him just before I met him. Took awhile to sort it out but it all ended up ok. Nice pic of those bison!

    Like

  3. You would think, with the commonness of identity theft that they’d have procedures to follow to make it easier … but obviously I’m living in a dream land. I’m sorry you had to go through that. I’ve been there and done that, but not in many years and i’d rather not return, thank you very much!

    Like

    1. They have procedures on paper. But when following those procedures, I found there are caveats. The bank says contact the police. The police say get a written statement from the bank before you contact us. Contact Social Security (my ss# has been compromised)? After a one hour wait on hold, I’m told contact them only if benefits are tampered with. Etc.

      Like

  4. So sorry you have to deal with identity theft, Emilio. If you had that servant, he could take care of it for you. 🙂 I like the idea of having my own buffalo herd,although it would go over too well in Naperville.

    janet

    Like

      1. Oh dear. I can imagine it quite well since I work in the government and want to smack myself at times when dealing with all the rules, red tape and delays.

        Like

    1. The bank thinks they had access to our mailbox since they also have our address and my social security number and I have not been getting any mail- except utility bills. Why couldn’t they take those, too, and pay them with my money? Is that asking too much? I now have a P. O. box for all my mail and have to change all my bank account numbers. 🙂

      Like

  5. “Where did you live in 3rd grade?” I lived in a mobile home in the middle of the desert. Seriously, middle of nowhere and I couldn’t wait to move away the second I was old enough to do so. In an ironic case of coming full circle, in about a year I will be buying a new mobile home and moving back to this same piece of land in the middle pf the desert. Just goes to show ya never can tell what will transpire. Great bison photo, btw!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. We live in Las Vegas but there are deserts surrounding us (can’t really call LV a desert) and when we first moved here we couldn’t wait to leave. But it certainly has grown on us as we get out of the city almost every weekend.

          Like

          1. I lived in Las Vegas for six years and probably would’ve stayed except that my family all still lived in New Mexico. As cities go, Las Vegas is pretty cool and if you’re willing to drive a bit, there is plenty of stuff to see in the huge state of Nevada!

            Like

            1. We started about three years ago driving the freeway 50 miles, then taking the first exit after that. We kept expanding that until our last trip was little over three hours. It’s been an eye opener, to say the least.

              Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

