Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – October 2016

Prompts and Challenges
Calico Basin October 29, 2016

Calico Basin
October 29, 2016

Each month I take one photo at Calico Basin for Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons. This month I was hoping to get something more in the mood of the season. You know. Halloween. Maybe some decorated homes at twilight or kids in costumes walking along the dirt roads. But guess what? No kids, no decorations. No haunted houses. I did find this new home under construction, though. Looks a bit small but I think they intend to build up, rather than out. Anyway, this shot was taken just after sunrise this past Saturday.

Nothing like waiting till the last moment.

Well, we’re in the home stretch. I’m not going to post Cardinal Guzman’s full explanation of the rules because it’s redundant if you’ve been following along. If you haven’t and you want to, I don’t think anyone would mind even though there are only two months left. The idea was to show the changing seasons in your area of the world over each month. Here is a slide show of the past 10 months in Las Vegas, NV. More specifically, Calico Basin.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

38 thoughts on “Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – October 2016

  1. When I lived in Israel, which basically as the exact same climate as Arizona and Nevada … I found myself getting bored with blue, cloudless skies. I missed the changes of season more than any other single thing about America … except having more people speak English 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, the changing seasons is really something. After one year in India, I was actually looking forward to see some snow upon returing to Norway (you can see snow in India, but you’ll have to go up North). I hate the winter, but still I looked forward to see snow clad fields when flying in over Oslo. When I arrived, there was no snow: only brown, sad, fields… 😀 Hahah
      I also missed getting cold, drinkable water directly from the tap.

      Like

    2. Oh, that’s what they speak here? English? Most Americans I know can’t even spell, let alone speak it properly. Like, you know? LOL. I tell you the dumbing down of this society is working.

      Like

  2. I know these photos! The builder is Old Hippie custom homes, the old silver camper had black stripes on it until a week or so back, they’ve been removed. Apparently occupied now. Sorry, This is an area I visit often. Was the blue dumpster full of horse crap? LOL!! I did a lot of hiking in this area until a big muscle in my right calf let go last year, too scared to go again now. I need my job and pain sucks!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why would I check out a blue dumpster full of horse crap? I’m a serious photographer, you know! 🙂 I’ve heard of Old Hippie but this place looks like it’s being built around and on top of an old van or something, the wheels are still attached to the base. Red Rock Canyon has always been my favorite place to hike and that’s why I chose Calico Basin to shoot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Because at times, that blue dumpster is overflowing with crap. It’s an eyesore. You can’t help but see the nasty thing. Why this is allowed is beyond me, never seen it anywhere else. Gross. I did tons of hiking here until my big PoP. So many nice people to meet out there too.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoyed the seasons slide show, Emilio. That first little house is pretty funny, although much too small for me. I hope they don’t decide to take off one day. The deck and stairs would be in deep trouble. As far as seasons go, I’m with you: I like them.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have I mentioned recently that I crack up every time I read the Albert Brooks quote before your comments?
    Another spectacular photo Emilio. I am thinking for changing seasons you might want to pop up to Canada?

    Like

  5. That does look a little weird. I guess there are no building restrictions in your part of the world, or is that why the wheels are still attached? For a quick getaway!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

