Share Your World – 2016 Week 42

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges
Amargosa Opera House Amargosa CA February 13, 2016

Amargosa Opera House
Amargosa CA
February 13, 2016

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with?  (And why, if you’re feel like admitting to it.) There are several rooms/ spaces I would like to de-clutter. You can’t find anything in our pantry because Lynn has all kinds of seeds in 5 gallon buckets for sprouting (anyone lost at this point can ask for clarification). Also, our two car garage can only fit one car because of all the stuff we are storing for family, including empty boxes. Who would store empty boxes?

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work? I usually tell Lynn to remind me. Does it work? Let’s put it this way; Lynn’s memory is only slightly worse than mine.

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize:  sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)? When we moved in March, I was able to create my retreat and I love it- though it’s nothing like what I had imagined. What I wanted was a den with dark walls, preferably wood. I got beige paint. I also wanted a leather couch but, since we are both vegetarians, I opted for a naugahyde chair. No animals were harmed in the making of this chair, though two fully grown naugas gave up their hydes gratefully as it was quite warm for March. And since my photos are all around the house, I have old, vintage ads and artwork on the walls. This is where I do most of my Lightroom work and listen to classical music.

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask? My mother’s parents and grandparents all died before I was even born. There is no one left of her family, but I just recently learned that her side were all Russian Jews. I would love to find out more. And then I could have a Jewish name. Or Russian. Myron Ginsberg. Or Alexey Dostoyevski. How great would that be?

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week was rather quiet. We saw the film Snowden. This coming week is Lynn’s birthday so I am surprising her with a mini vacation. Details to follow afterwards- and photos, too, I hope.

Now, get yourself on over to Cee’s Share Your World to share your world!

(And, as always, the photo above has nothing to do with this post except that this post is mine. And so is the photo!

041514 sywbanner

36 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 42

    1. Joe, I didn’t know that. I feel terrible now. Although, as I said, no animals were harmed. At least not long term, though naugas look awfully silly without their hyde!They’ll now probably be psychologically shamed by bullies and it’s all my fault. Geez. (And thank you for Lynn. Boy is she old. Fourteen months older than me. But I always liked older women. They’re so much more… worldly!)

      Liked by 2 people

  1. What a fun post! Firstly just love the image – it’s stunning!
    Your den sounds like a wonderful place to work and just be and with classical music going? Yes please. I work best that way too if I really need to focus.
    Enjoy your mini surprise vacation and Happy Birthday to Lynn for next week! 🙂

    Like

    1. We really enjoyed Snowden, though it is quite disconcerting. I am surprised how restrained Oliver Stone was. I’m not a great fan of his. As for the seeds, they’re actually beans. Lynn sprouts them (that supposedly makes them more nutritious) then adds them to soups, salads, wraps, whatever. She believes, though, that the heat from a soup destroys some of the nutrients. I looked and the contents are adzuka beans, fenugreek, lentils, mung beans, triticale, and wheat. Mmmm, tastie! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not much of an Oliver Stone fan either but I’d like to see Snowden. I haven’t seen the movie so I don’t know what direction it takes but the question is….hero or traitor? Or a bit of both? Ahh the beans sound delicious! I’m a vegetable freak!! I love veggies. Being Greek I love lentils and not being asian I still enjoy mung beans LOL.

        Like

        1. Hero or traitor? Are you asking me? If you know Stone’s politics or his leanings then you should be able to guess. But I’d be glad to tell you if you like. You’re greek? I love greek salad- though I understand we Americans have bastardized it.

          Like

          1. Well I was sort of being facetious and serious. I can imagine Stone’s take on it. I meant outside the movie. IT’s amazing how people think of him both ways. Yup. Greek! I make a killer greek salad. It’s called Horiatiki salad.

            Like

        1. We don’t eat tofu because you can’t find any non-GMO. We try to stay away from GMO as much as possible. But we doe at cheese and eggs and fish so maybe pescatarian is more accurate, I’m not sure. For protein, lots of beans and peas, quinoa, nuts, chia, sunflower, and sesame seeds,. we eat out rarely but it’s not impossible. Our favorite is pizza, but you can have pasta, salad, a vegie burger. Don’t even think about GMO when you eat out, though. Just enjoy!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the shot, Emilio. A mini van is a great surprise. When we were getting ready to get my most recent vehicle, Bill was talking about getting me a smaller car with great mileage (we had a Toyota Sienna.) But I love the Sienna, so that’s what we got again. Regarding your telling Lynn to help you remember, often just telling someone helps you remember better. I write lists.

    janet

    Like

  3. So my big question is who came up with the word “naugahyde” anyway? 😂 Weirdly funny word. It’s kinda like “barcalounger.” I mean perhaps “Barca” was a person. Was Nauga one too? Anyway, I digress. Sounds like a wonderful space to create, Emilio. I’m relegated to a corner of our living room in our new place, but that’s okay. I love the room, filled with wonderful light from many windows.

    Looking forward to reading about Lynn’s birthday surprise (and many happy wishes to her from one “older-than-husband” woman to another) 🎉🎂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

