Coming Out Of The Closet

Prompts and Challenges
Hanksville UT May 7, 2016

Hanksville UT
May 7, 2016

Emilio Pasquale does not exist. He is a figment of an overactive imagination, a young man trapped in an old man’s body! A product of the sixties, he survived the Summer Of Love in San Francisco and the business world of New York City before divorce and ill parents led him to Las Vegas, where he now resides and contemplates retirement.

He is happily remarried to Melinda, commonly called Lynn (or babe, or dear, or milady- which she prefers). They have a large extended family with 10 children- all thankfully grown, though two still reside with them. Educated in the arts, he has only recently returned to his first love- photography. He shoots mostly landscapes in and around the southwest United States with occasional forays to parts further east and west.

He will continue his posting under the name and persona of Emilio Pasquale, though he is fully aware that some may feel duped or lied to. But everything he has said and done in his postings has been truthful, though names and/or relationships may have been changed or juxtaposed, e.g. references to brothers or sisters were usually one or more of their children.

He is open to all questions, queries, and comments- angry, bitter, or otherwise.

You may have questions, he might have answers.
93 thoughts on “Coming Out Of The Closet

  1. Whats in a name anyway ? I think names are way over rated Emilio (oops) or whoever. I realize some people might feel betrayed or duped but as far as I’m concerned as long as the great images and sense of humor persist I really don’t care what your name is ! Keep up the great work my friend 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. >>… a young man trapped in an old man’s body
    I didn’t realize the young man was trapped. We saw him skipping around all the time. 😉
    >> … Educated in the arts
    That explains a lot! Your photos are more than ordinary photos…
    How big is the closet, I wonder. 😉
    Have a great day.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. See, that’s my problem. I keep thinking I’m young and then I get a rude stranger calling me “pops”. I got my first camera in 1969. My dad built me a darkroom around 1970. But when I got married I switched over to video because of the kids. I just picked up a still camera again in 2009 and have been relearning everything. The closet? Not very big. And I’d definitely have more room if my wife would get rid of some clothes! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh Emilio, when Joe told me that you had shared something big, I rushed right over. And you know what? The man you described is the man I always invisioned. Your words, visions, ideals, comments, and life experience always led me to believe that. In fact, the only thing that surprises me about this post is that Emilio is not your name.
    Even though I’ve never met you, I feel lucky to call you friend

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Laurie. I feel the same about this community. I love Emilio. He is like the son I never had. Oh, wait. I do have sons. And my younger son,Matt, is the spitting image of Emilio. They are both 33, and have a great sense of humor, and both look like the caricature that will remain as my logo. 🙂

      Like

  4. I’ve legally changed my name…so to me birth names are irrelevant and in fact any name is. It is what comes from the heart that I consider makes a person. Keep up taking your photos no matter what your age is.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Emilio I am smiling ear to ear and my heart is full. It is of no surprise to me that your readers are embracing you and accepting without any concern. This is what I have found in the blogging community, such support, such kindness and a no questions asked mentality.
    You are one of many I know who blog with a name other than the one on their birth certificate. No problem here my friend. Love the photos, love your sense of fun and love that you have come out of the closet to this reception. Beautiful!

    Liked by 4 people

      1. I just read your comment to Dave and we send a big hug. What a pleasure it was to meet in person. If we were able to help you make this step in some small way we are delighted. Now we just need to get you and Lynn here to Canada for a visit!

        Like

  6. Aliases are fun and almost necessary these days in the world of private/public media. Some degree of personal integrity needs to be preserved, I think. I myself have many aliases here on WP alone, and frankly I just expect others to deal with it or not. Although I have been remiss in my visits of late, I have nevertheless always enjoyed your posts and your photography. You’ve often put a smile on my head, for which I am grateful. It’s a hard thing to do you know…! (not really…)
    That anyone has taken offence to your ‘duplicitous’ nature is a sign of their own inability to bend and adapt, and frankly to respect the privacy of others. This is entertainment first and foremost, is it not? As well as, of course, a privileged insight into the workings of a most creative mind. It’s been a pleasure thus far, Emilio. 😉

    Like

    1. The way my mind works, I believe anyone who has not responded has been offended by my duplicity. My mind does not accept that maybe they didn’t read this post or it is not an issue so why should they comment. This should have gone viral. Or maybe I’m just too self-centered. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. More the fool them in that case. Curiosity is not the same as being self-centred. Besides, as bloggers were essentially selling ourselves if we are indeed a marketable product. Market research is valuable in order to establish your market base. Frankly, you can’t keep everyone happy. It’s impossible.

        Like

  7. Love that you have a” blogging” name- my name is not part of my blog- somewhere along the line I revealed it here and there so some people use it in comments, others use my blog name dailymusings or DM. Just keep the beautiful images coming- and keep sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Seriously? You were worried that people would be offended? I’m totally not surprised by the accepting comments from others 🙂

    I have to admit, when I read your post though, I thought you were joking. You’re always joking. Does this mean you don’t have a little dog slowly driving you insane? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, Jo, I was definitely concerned and totally blown away by the acceptance. I DO have a little dog but she is not SLOWLY driving me insane. She has completed the task and is currently researching homes for me to while away my final days. And, perhaps, for me to fly an occasional kite or to cut paper dollies while medicated and under supervision!

      Like

  9. Haha very inspiring post Mr. Pasquale 😉 I have been completely lost in what to write in my WordPress, and although I am still of the opinion I’m boring, your post made it look so easy to write meaningfully. Bravo! I’m happy I follow you! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ha, ha, I love it! I’ll reveal a secret: there are lots if us young guys wondering ‘who the heck is the old geezer peering out from the mirror’. I take some (but not much) consolation that youth is (generally) wasted on the young. Sometimes I even think that being young in an old body is more fun than merely being young. Old or (and?) young, I enjoy your posts

    Like

  11. I think your photography is fabulous and your sense of humor is twisted enough to make me laugh! I like the name Emilio and if you start using your “real” name…I may still call you Emilio!
    Are you sure moving to the desert wasn’t part of the witness protection plan? (just wondering!)

    Like

  12. all the word’s a stage, even the virtual world…so there’s no problem in using a stage name. Although speaking as one who prefers to keep with my stage name, there can be moments after some years when the boundary between the two can break down, so whose voice, whose sensibility is present becomes a question. But I guess that’s why there are therapists. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  13. OK, Emilio, having learned about your posting from Joe and Laurie, I have to admit that I was gobsmacked (a truly useful British expression that does a great job describing my reaction 😀). In fact, your ears should have been burning throughout last weekend as your news was shared among the NYC crew — and I mean that in the very best way possible. Duped?? Not in the least. In fact, in my eyes, this just makes you all the more fun and interesting! You’re a gem, Emilio, with a wonderfully creative eye, wicked sense of humor, and kind heart. I’m honored to call you a friend, no matter what your name.

    So, 10 kids???

    Like

    1. The ten kids are not my fault. Though I would have been happy for the practice. Lynn was a Mormon and liked having kids. Now she’s wondering what she was thinking. About kids and about mormonism! Two of them are living with us now and it is a story in and of itself. I won’t go there.

      Like

  14. Ahhhhhhh
    I agree with Joe- what’s in a name !
    And in the early blogging days I thought I preferred knowing names – but now I could care less!
    And actually –
    Sometimes anonymous bloggers have such relaxed openness so whatever works!
    But I can see why some folks want to stay anon while others eventually want to share details –
    But there are reasons for both-
    Anyhow – glad I came back to see what the announcement was –
    And you picked a great pen name by the way!

    Like

  15. The name Emilio Pasquale is from my grandfather Emilio, and my uncle Pasquale. They and my grandmother landed at Ellis Island around 1917. My father was born in Brooklyn, as was I some 26 years later.

    Like

  16. You’re not old, my young man! Age is in our heads (ok, the squatting bit does get more difficult) and your head is young.
    And even in the “real age” category, you’re very much the same age as me – YOUNG is all I allow as a description of me!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

