Share Your World – 2016 Week 41

Prompts and Challenges
3rd Annual RISE Lantern Festival Moapa Indian Reservation NV October 8, 2016

3rd Annual RISE Lantern Festival
Moapa Indian Reservation NV
October 8, 2016

This is our last week to explore the questions that are from kids.  The Happy Quitter wrote Cee Neuner and told her about the workshop she does for neighborhood kids and that some of the kids had suggestions for the Share Your World challenge.  

  1. Do you believe in love at first sight? I definitely believe in love at first sight. But sometimes you need a second, or even third, viewing. Have the kids stopped reading? Good! Love at first sight is usually built upon animal magnetism. Sometimes even pure animal lust. True love, as we adults know by now, needs time to build into a deep bond. Beyond that first blush.
  2. Your first car? My first car was actually a motorcycle- which I purchased when I was 16. I don’t know how my parents allowed it. The bike made it difficult to attend my high school prom. I traded in my third bike when I was 23 after my second accident and subsequent knee operation. My first car after that was a Nissan
  3. Who taught you to ride a bike? How did it go? It went as well as the previous answer would lead you to believe. I remember one day after school on my bicycle- I was about 8 or 10 at the time- I was leaning over to pick up something off the sidewalk. I somehow got entangled in the bike and fell face first into the pavement. Stars exploded. I got up, left the bike there, and walked home. When my sister opened the front door I think she screamed. She rushed me into the bathroom to clean me up and that was when I first saw my bruised face, the bloody abrasions, and the broken nose.
  4. Ugly and rich or beautiful and poor? Who makes up the rules? Why can’t I be beautiful and rich? But really, I have a disdain for money. All I need is to have food and shelter. And wine. So I guess beautiful and poor. I’ve got the poor down. That was easy. Now I’m just working on the beautiful!
  5. What was the first dish you could cook?  That would probably be some variation of ground meat. Meat sauce, meatballs, hamburgers, meatloaf, chile con carne. In college, we had a cookbook titled 365 Ways To Cook Hamburger. It was our bible.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? This past weekend- that counts as last week, right?- we went to a lantern festival on sacred land at the Moapa Indian Reservation. I had no desire to go but man I’m glad I did. Just beautiful. And awesome. Just looking forward to a quiet, peaceful week.

 

Please check out Cee’s Share Your World for more answers to these earth shattering questions.

29 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 41

    1. When I was told the schedule there was no way I wanted to go. We got there at 5, the lantern release started at 8 and fireworks at 10:30. But it wasn’t bad at all. There were local groups performing from 5 till 8, then the lanterns, which went on till 10:30. The fireworks were anticlimactic. The worse part of the entire evening was the traffic leaving. And yes, I am a klutz- but it only takes control whenever I’m trying to be cool!

      Like

      1. Yeah that schedule might’ve made me wonder but it’s good they kept it entertaining. Oy the traffic. People arrive at different times but always leave at the same time. I’m sure you have some swagger LOL.

        Like

  1. beautiful sight all those laterns…
    overhere in lots of places they are forbidden, environmental and fire hazard. it wouldn’t be the first house with a thatched roof that caught fire :-/

    Like

    1. Interesting you bring that up. One lantern behind us didn’t get airborne quickly enough and hit Lynn in the head. Her hair caught on fire and someone rushed over and got it out. She had to trim her hair when we got home. Scared the …. out of me. She was very calm.

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

