Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – September 2016

Prompts and Challenges

dscf8464-edit-edit

Each month I take one photo at Calico Basin for Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons. Actually, I take several photos but choose only one to post. Since Tuesday, September 20, it has been overcast in Las Vegas. Shortly after I took this photo, at 3:43 in the afternoon, it started to drizzle. Just enough to make my car look dirtier than it actually was. The next day, September 21, it rained for about 5 minutes and we had an actual rainbow off in the southeast. This year the Fall Equinox was yesterday, September 22. Meaning summer was officially over. We are currently blessed with daytime temperatures in the 80’s and nighttime lows in the 50’s.

Heaven!

And now for your viewing pleasure, a retrospective of the year to date from Calico Basin.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What’s this “Changing Seasons” blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2016» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month. Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2016. It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed. These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
  • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!
41 thoughts on “Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – September 2016

    1. A snow shovel? What a quaint relic. Do you know the musical Camelot? That’s where we live. Camelot Nevada. “A law was made a distant moon ago here: July and August cannot be too hot. And there’s a legal limit to the snow here in Camelot”, also “The rain may never fall till after sundown. By eight, the morning fog must disappear.” True, we have very little fog here. But otherwise, Camelot. Except for the summer. Someone did not listen close enough to the song.

      Like

            1. No, don’t apologize. A lot of the lighting is added by me in Lightroom. In this photo I added light variations in the sky because it was a dull gray. Also there are a few highlights added on some of the plants. But most of it was done with upping the contrast.

              Liked by 1 person

                1. I use Lightroom on all my processing but you can’t add elements from another photo with Lightroom. Photoshop just seems to involved. I also use On1 sometimes and they are coming out with an updated version which looks like a simpler version of Photoshop. Maybe that would work. I’ll let you know.

                  Like

  1. Between yesterday and today, the leaves started to change. I think by next week at this time, it will really be autumn. I love the way you’ve shot the same place each time. Nice. I got a bit of diversity into mine this time — because I could. By the way, Photoshop Elements is a bargain and really has most of the stuff we really use … and it works with all the various filters. I figure when my DVD version of Photoshop CS6 is finally too old to run on my system, that’s my next stop. I’m not going to rent my software. I won’t do it. Once it starts, it will never end.

    I have never been able to make head or tail of lightroom.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Marilyn. I’m really getting tired of this little community and can’t wait for December. I mean, I love it but there’s not much to take phoos of, although living there I don’t think I’d ever get tired of waking up to the views. Talk about the change in seasons, I went for a hike today thinking it’s in the mid 80’s so that’s good. But the temp hit 90 where I was and there was no shade and no wind. So I only hiked maybe a mile in all and then retreated to the car and turned on the a.c. The thing with Lightroom and Photoshop is, I think, that you become proficient on whichever one you first learned and then shun the other. At least it seems you and I have. As for me and photoshop, I’m still trying to learn everything on my camera. So photoshop will have to wait.

      Like

  2. Beautifully done, and running through the monthly photos, they all were beautiful. Interesting to see the talk about LR & PS. I too love LR and find PS too involved. I’ve used On1, but lately when I want more than LR I go to Silver efex and Color efex pro – they’re easy, and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

