52 WEEKS PHOTO CHALLENGE: WEEK 7 – TIME

Prompts and Challenges

The word prompt for this week’s 52 Weeks Photo Challenge hosted by The Girl That Dreams Awake is “Time”.

Whenever we used to have family gatherings, the older folk would reminisce about how little everything used to cost in “the good old days”. Well, I guess they weren’t lying as the gas pump above only has room for single digits. It seems no one could foresee filling up your tank would ever cost more than $9.99.

Truly, the good old days.

42 thoughts on “52 WEEKS PHOTO CHALLENGE: WEEK 7 – TIME

  1. Outstanding image Emilio I love that you included the old coupe with no windows in the scene 😀 As much as I hate to admit it when I was 16 years old and got my license “Good Gulf” brand gasoline was 33 cents a gallon so if a car had a completely empty 20 gallon gas tank it would cost $6.66 and the attendant would wash your front window and check the oil level in the car. That was 1969.

    Like

    1. Yup, you’re old! My grandfather used to talk of going to a matinee and getting popcorn and a comic book all for a dime. But I tend to believe that was a dime each. Not all together. What do you think? We’re talking around late 1930’s or early 40’s.

      Like

  2. This is a fantastic photo!! Oh a full tank for so little! I fill up my tank for no less than 150 Swiss francs which in dollars is more or less the same 😳 good old days!

    Like

    1. I was going to post a clock but that seemed pretty mundane. Then I came across this shot. Glad you like it. I went to get gas over the weekend and whoever was last at that pump paid $150 to fill up their tank. Mine usually costs about $30-$40.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the vantage point of the shot, Emilio. I remember gas wars when gas was $.25/gallon and when I was in grad school in the 70’s, gas wasn’t much more than double that, at least as I recall. and much cheaper than cigarettes. I had a VW Super Beetle in the 70’s, so not only did it not cost much to fill up, I didn’t have to fill it too often!

    janet

    Like

  4. I love it! All you people of a particular generation talk about how cheap gas used to be. I remember a few summers ago when it almost hit $5.00 a gallon here. And then within a month or two it dropped to just below $2.00 a gallon. Now that was heaven! 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

