Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 37

Gallery, Prompts and Challenges
Grounded

Grounded

Have you ever owned a rock, pet rock, or gem that is not jewelry? I always wanted to own a pet rock when I was growing up. But my mother was afraid I wouldn’t walk it and she would end up having to clean up after it.

What is your greatest strength or weakness? I do not have a greatest strength. I do have a greatest weakness though. That would be television commercials. I always cry at them and it is very embarrassing. Almost as bad as standing in front of the classroom in your underwear, which is a dream I often have.

What makes you feel grounded? The ground makes me feel grounded. I mean really. If I’m flying, like in an airplane, how can I feel grounded? I’m up in the air. I could feel airy, I suppose. If that was a word.

Would you rather never be able to eat warm food or never be able to eat cold food? If one is to classify ice cream as a food, then I would hate to never be able to eat cold food. Or beer. Beer is a food. It’s made from grain, just like bread. So I’d probably give up warm food over cold. Ice cream and beer. Who needs anything more than that?

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m grateful we made it home safely last week after our 15 hour round trip drive to Los Angeles International Airport and back. Google does not take traffic into account when it says the one way trip is only four and a half hours. This week I’m heading off alone, just me and my camera, as my trusty and loyal companion (my wife) will be otherwise detained babysitting. (She called it babysitting. I hate to tell her it’s actually a dog.) I have no idea where I’ll end up!

(The questions above are a product of Cee’s Share Your World, which comes out every Monday. The answers above are a product of my overactive imagination. If you click on the logo below, you can check out Cee’s post and join in, or link to others.)

Please check out Cee's Share Your World for more answers to these earth shattering questions.

Please check out Cee’s Share Your World for more answers to these earth shattering questions.

40 thoughts on “Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 37

  1. Great shot Emilio 😀 Beer is a food group so I would also give up warm food. There is one thing that really bothers me with that dream you have about standing in front of the classroom in your underwear because I have this recurring dream that I’m in class and this guy is standing in front of the class in his underwear. I had no idea that was you !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So, basically, you could have driven there faster. That’s why we always drive back and forth to NY. Getting in and out of Logan and one of the NY airports takes longer than the whole drive, door-to-door.

    I feel grounded on the ground to especially when it isn’t on an earthquake fault.

    Like

  3. No. You misunderstood. Probably I wasn’t clear. We DID drive, taking the route that Google maps said would take us only 4 and a half hours one way. We left a 8:30 Friday morning and got there at 2:30 (not too bad). Then we turned right around within 5 to 10 minutes and didn’t get back home until 11:30 at night. 😦 It took us all weekend to recuperate.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Amy. I think I know where I’m going now. It’s about an hour and a half drive from our house. A small town called Kelso, in the Mojave National Preserve in San Bernardino County, California. There’s an old railroad depot that is now a museum. Not far from there are the Kelso Dunes and Amboy Crater which, I believe is an old volcano.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Questions of Life the universe & everything.

    Pet Rock – had one when I worked in Saudi Arabia back in the early 80’s but my fellow engineers kidnapped it and asked for a ransom that I did not pay on time: they sent it back in bits !!! never had one since.
    Guinness is definitely the food of the gods – then again ‘Whom the gods would destroy, they first make mad’ so maybe that’s why a lot of strange people don’t like it. 🙂
    Air travel ….. the one thing I am looking forward to giving up, being stuck in an aluminium tube for hours on end and all those people making life hell before you even get in the thing: Road or sea is definitely more civilised.

    David.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I often wondered if I was odd. But how can I be? I like Guinness. As for modes of transportation, I’m not too keen on flying, nor extended sea voyages. Driving’s for me. And as soon as they build a bridge over the Bering Strait I’ll be able to visit Europe.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I eat ice cream very rarely. But when I do, I like it cold! As for calling your rocks pets, then you’d have to take care of them, feed them, pet them, clean up their little pebbles when they go. Is it worth it? Just leave them as rocks!

      Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

