Share Your World – 2016 Week 34

Prompts and Challenges
Nevada State Route 375 The Extraterrestrial Highway

Nevada State Route 375
The Extraterrestrial Highway

What is your favorite comfort snack food?  I really don’t have a favorite snack food as I rarely snack. Although I used to insist upon a bag of popcorn whenever I went to the movies. Even with the synthesized butter product they pour on it, I prefer the movie popcorn over home made with real butter from organic grass fed cows and Celtic or sea salt. I mean, there’s a time and a place for healthy snack food but a movie theater is not it.

Is the paper money in your possession right now organized sequentially according to denomination and with the bills right side up and facing the same way?  Normally I would answer yes. But a few days ago I went to purchase an item at a store for $50 with my card and it was denied. So I had to pay with my sequentially organized according to denomination bills all facing the same way. When I got back to my office, I checked my bank balance, then called the bank to curse them. They said they denied the card based on my spending- I had charged an iced coffee for $4.00 and that small a charge is a red light for fraud. They said thieves often charge a small amount to make sure a stolen card is still good before charging something much more expensive.

If you were a mouse in your house in the evening, what would you see your family doing? Well, not eating home made popcorn, that’s for sure. Lynn is usually in the living room on her laptop while I am in my den working on photos or reading about photography. We usually make dinner together first. Sometimes we’ll watch a movie or documentary together.

Would you rather not be able to read or not be able to speak?  I would normally go for the cheap joke here and say I’d rather my wife was not able to speak. But I’m more mature and have much more class than that. So I will take the high road and say I’d rather not be able to speak. I could always write or type. But if I were unable to read, well, that would mean that I am blind, or legally so, and would not be able to watch a movie or see my wife smile.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week we left the house about 3 in the afternoon for a ride and found the Extraterrestrial Highway that leads to Area 51. We were not looking for it and I really had no idea we lived anywhere near it (only 2 hours away). But it was too late in the day so we promised ourselves to return this week. We did so yesterday and I will have more photos within the following week.

(This is a continuing feature of Cee’s weekly challenges which I enjoy playing. I am late this week because I was going to take a week or so off and may do so sooner or later. Probably later!)

31 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week 34

  1. I love the name of this highway, Emilio. I love popcorn…but never movie popcorn. A) I’m too cheap to spend money on it and B) I hate the excessive amount of butter they bath it in. I found the information about denied credit card interesting. That certainly never happens at our tea shop, where people inconsiderately often charge $3 or so amounts, costing our business a lot in bank fees. As for not being able to read, maybe that would mean you were illiterate, not blind. Either would be a tragedy for me, so I’d prefer not to be able to speak. I would never, ever want to have to give up reading!!! BTW, I’m so glad you didn’t make that joke about your wife. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hey Emilio – the highway discovery sounds cool – and not just saying this – but when I was Helaing up from doing some major cleansing and heavy metal detox – well homemade pop corn was a rescue and sometimes felt like a meal – trader joes gmo free kernels – popped in olive oil / and then topped with real – butter and salt – dense oils, fiber, and bit of salt – so satisfying ! but I did have to cleanse and fast for a while and maybe that changed taste buds / who knows
    anyhow a hope you had a nice summer and best wishes
    🍿🍿🍿🍿

    Like

    1. We only buy Trader Joe’s gmo free popcorn. And top it with real butter from grass fed cows and sea or Celtic salt. And it does fill us up to where we don’t normally eat dinner. But still, I prefer the junk they sell in the movie theater. Maybe because I grew up with it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. got ya – and the way you described it in the post – with the celtic sea salt – I had a feeling that you made it or someone did…. and by the way – that sounds amazing….
        and I know what you mean about movie theatre popcorn – but the last time I had it – which I think was 2014 – the place we were at had the worst fake butter oil crap and so it ruined it – but I think the stuff I had in the 80’s was better….
        have a great day

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel the same way about movie popcorn – you just can’t beat it! All that plastic butter goes so well with the movie theatre. I have mixed emotions about your bank…hmmm… Not sure I would like that! Great answers, as always!

    Like

  4. This one was the best yet! I laughed about you saying you wish that Lyn wouldn’t speak LOL. I know you are just kidding but I’d bet almost every man would say that as a joke first. Haha. Now that you posted this picture, do you believe in UFO’s and aliens from another planet?

    Like

        1. I actually did see a UFO when I was in high school. I’m not saying it was from another planet, just definitely unidentified. But I do believe in alien life forms. But it’s sort of like believing in God. You have to take it on faith since there is no real proof. Hope I don’t offend.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. You aren’t offending me at all. It’s interesting to see what others thing about this intense subject. How cool you saw a UFO even if it wasn’t from Ork. lol I’ve never seen one but I do believe there has to be life elsewhere.

            Like

  5. That is a really terrific shot. I enjoyed your post, it is fun to learn about the different bloggers we enjoy visiting. Healthy snacks are for school children…. 😉

    Like

    1. 🙂 That’s what I’m saying. There’s a movie theater that opened up a year or two ago that I rarely go to but they have giant recliner seats so you can lay back. And they serve wine along with their popcorn. I am in heaven there. But can too easily fall asleep. Even when the action is loud!

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

