52 WEEKS PHOTO CHALLENGE: WEEK 1 -BLACK AND WHITE

Prompts and Challenges

DSCF7699-Edit-2

So, I just discovered a new challenge hosted by The Girl That Dreams Awake that I couldn’t resist. It is a 52 week photo challenge. Some people may get tired of me always saying I need to cut back on posting. But the posting isn’t the problem. The problem is commenting on all the posts I follow. I keep promising I’ll get better and yet I never do. So here’s my promise. I will get better. I will. But until I do, I hope you enjoy this image that I shot last Friday, August 5th, while playing hooky from work.

63 thoughts on “52 WEEKS PHOTO CHALLENGE: WEEK 1 -BLACK AND WHITE

    1. Like I mentioned to The Girl That Dreams Awake (what is her name?), it’s not a true HDR. Just a single image where I opened up the shadows and brought down the highlights. It’s amazing what it brings out but I try not to overdo it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I know what you mean. I’ve cut way back on posting just to control how much interaction I have here. It’s just all too much sometimes! I love to look though and I’ll be following what you do with this! Happy clicking! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Laura. There are a few people whose work I look forward to. Yours, of course, is on that list. And though I might not comment, I will like when I see it. It’s my way of stalking you- and I remember that’s a dirty word for you so don’t worry. I’m only teasing. Did I ever tell you about the one time I did sort of stalk someone? I couldn’t even do it right.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. So tell about your staking! I think it deserves a blog post. :-). And thanks for looking forward to it. Hopefully I’ll get Cees blog delivered to my email so I remember. I never remember there things. :/. Must be my advanced age haha!

        Like

  2. I understand how difficult it is to keep up. I am always behind.
    This photo is perfect. I feel like I could step into it and be “back in time”
    I also love the idea of this challenge. I’m going to go check it out.

    Like

  3. Today I went through all the blogs I follow and dumped the ones that seem to have disappeared or which I never read. Exactly two and one was a duplicate. Every day, I get all those emails and panic because unless I never leave the computer, I won’t get to all of them. But I try. I really try.

    Like

    1. I think that’s a good idea, going through the blogs you follow. I used to follow someone only because they follow me. I have a girl who posts about fashion that I follow, as well as one who posts the worst poetry. But I never really read or comment on them.

      Like

  4. I guess we’re all the same boat concerning keeping up with blogs, et al. But overall, I think the challenge is worth it.

    When I see your photos like this one, I think I’d like to try some like it. But we don’t have any of these old things around where I can see them, so I’ll have to look elsewhere. 🙂 You do these so well.

    janet

    Like

  5. Cut back on posting? With photos like this to show us? no no no! Keep posting please 🙂 This is an amazing photo!! Love the HDR effect . Thank you so much for joining the challenge 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Girl. The HDR effect is really only bringing down the highlights and opening up the blacks in Lightroom. Amazing what that does. I’m glad I found your blog! 🙂 Now I just have to make room for everything else I want to do. Maybe I need someone to help me with organizing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I use a HDR preset in ;lightroom in some photos and the result is amazing 🙂 I am glad i found your blog too :)I know what you mean sometimes is just not enouhg hours in the day!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I think most people struggle with posting comments; I know I do. I try to look at as much as possible. There is WP, fb, Instagram, etc. etc. It can be overwhelming to say the least. I have my favorites that I never miss reviewing.

    I concur with Joe on this image – great work. The framing in between to gas pumps offers depth. The leading line of the mountains brings you right into the garage where the light coming through the window onto the hood is fantastic. The over-all texture and detail in the image is wonderful. I always say that having the full tonal range in a B&W images really makes it; otherwise it is just muddy grays. You got the range and the slight vignette rounds this image off nicely. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep resisting Instagram, and I haven’t posted on fb in awhile, though I waste a lot of time looking at other people’s posts. I have to say I’m glad you took the time to comment on my post. The feedback from you is just what I need. Whenever I doubt what I’m doing I’m going to come back and re-read this. I still feel I went a little too dark on the blacks, though. But considering where I started out, this does seem to have much more drama. Thanks again, Dan. I shouldn’t admit this but the leading line of the mountains was not planned. Purely serendipitous.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great atmosphere Emilio! The old car appears to be hiding in the shed like a wild animal, biding it’s time, ready to pounce! I so know what you mean about keeping up with everything – posting, commenting, visiting, replying – if I find a solution, I’ll be sure to let you know! Have a good weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Great, no – awesome, no – fantastic photograph, Emilio!!! 🙂 And I really know what you mean with cutting back 😉 And it´s true, it´s the commenting that needs most the time 😉 But I´m sure you´ll manage – and don´t you dare stop posting your wonderful pictures!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Bill. I was pretty happy with it. It started out quite a bit lighter, but then I found an Ansel Adams preset that I started working with. I might play around with it a bit more, maybe back off a bit to clean it up.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I liked this image on Facebook and love it here too, especially reading the commentary 😃
    I keep wishing you were on Instagram – it’s fun and I mostly post different images over there.
    Come on over Emilio… It’s fun 😃😃

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

