Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge – August 3, 2016

Prompts and Challenges
Barstow CA

Barstow CA

My wife doesn’t understand me. I mean, don’t get me wrong. She’s a wonderful woman. Salt of the earth. (By the way. What does that mean? Salt of the earth. Anybody know?) But we’ve been to Barstow twice now. One hundred fifty eight miles southwest of here. I don’t remember if I got any shots of anything that first time. But the second time, we found this trestle that stretches over a vacant railroad yard and I got this one shot that I like. Now, I want to go back and maybe shoot from a different angle or a different time of day. But she says we saw everything there is to see in Barstow. What? Excuse me? I guess I’m just going to have to sneak off one morning and go back down there by myself. Problem is, she’s my navigator. Without her, I’m afraid I wouldn’t know which way to go.

~~~~0~~~~

(The above image is part of Cee’s Which Way challenge. Please go visit to check out the rules (pretty simple) and the talent (pretty awesome).

49 thoughts on “Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge – August 3, 2016

  1. I think there are always things about each that we don’t understand…and it is these quirks that make us love them for who they are 🙂 You and your wife sound like you make a great time. She’s the navigator, and you are the driver in the front seat. And the one who takes photos and make a memory of where you go. Stunning shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great shot Emilio and good luck with the drive dynamics and getting back to Barstow. I’ve been there a few times but only long enough to stop for petrol because the driver was keen to keep going. It certainly looked interesting enough and hope to get back one day. Might see you out there!

    Like

  3. I don’t blame you for wanting to go back and shoot more in a vacant rail yard although it looks like you got a good angle for this image. Did I ever tell you about my friend and navigator Garmin ? BTW I love the image 🙂

    Like

    1. Garmin? I’ve heard of him. But I have a love/hate relationship with Siri. Mostly hate, as she always chooses the most indirect route or refuses to understand what I’m asking for. No, I’ll stick with Lynn. She’s more fun!

      Liked by 1 person

                1. OK, well, that was a bust! By the time we got near Barstow on our way back, there was a brush fire which they estimated at 100 acres. The smoke was dense and even in our car with the windows closed and the ac blowing, we could still smell it. So we didn’t stop. We will get back there one day soon.

                  Liked by 1 person

                    1. In the morning, we drove past and saw the brush fire off in the distance but it was pretty small. When we came back that way about 5 or 6 hours later, the radio was reporting 1000 acres. Today it is still burning and I think they said close to 400 homes have been evacuated.

                      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great shot! Like the angle you took. Most of us would take from the level above. 🙂
    I have the same problem… but hubby is my navigator.

    Like

  5. Hmmm a dilemma. Perhaps you will have to sweeten the road trip. while we are on the way to ( her favorite place/shopping mall/restaurant) we will just nip off to Barstow. Just for a minute of course. 🙂

    Like

    1. OK, my dilemma. Lynn doesn’t like to shop and doesn’t like to eat out because of the expense. Her favorite place varies depending on which way we’re driving. I could sneak in Barstow on the way to somewhere else, I suppose. But where?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. One of the many things I like about your photographs is that you don’t shoot just for “pretty.” You let the picture tell the story warts and all. It’s why I don’t remove wires and poles from my pictures. I think they belong there. I love the bridge, the poles, the rust, the whole thing.

    Like

  7. Great shot Emilio…. say hi to the navigator… as Laura says… she’s a woman… and you men just don’t know how we tick… as my hubby said to my son… you only need two words in life son for a happy marriage… ‘Yes Dear’ 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  8. She doesn’t like me calling her “dear”. She says it sounds like I can’t remember her name. Funny, she doesn’t have the same problem with “babe”. Oh, and you women just don’t know how we men tick. You think it’s all sex and getting our own way and…. Wait. OK, you do understand us. Probably way too much.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

