Trippin’

Gallery
Sand Castle at Coronado Beach

Sand Castle at Coronado Beach

I’m sorry. I wanted to write a witty, fun narrative of my recent trip to San Diego but, though I have tried twice already, it comes out stilted and forced. The highlights? I saw my friend Matt for the first time in 3 years and it was as if we had seen each other just the night before. The lows? I got sick on the drive down and had to spend Wednesday night and most of Thursday in, or very close to, the motel bathroom. I even had to take a nap the next day, I was so exhausted. But by 2:30 I was finally feeling better and went to the Gaslamp Quarter to wait for Matt to get out of Comic-con. I walked around for about 3 hours in 100 degree heat when I couldn’t find my car. Then I sat in it until Matt was free. That night we had a great  Mexican dinner (OK, mine was not great, but the Margarita was super!) then I dropped him at the place he was staying and I returned to my motel. The next morning I checked out and drove to Coronado and walked along the beach where I took the photo above. The photo below was taken near the Gaslamp Quarter the day before.

My drive back home took only 5 and a half hours.

Home For the Homeless

Home For the Homeless

metal prints for sale

36 thoughts on “Trippin’

    1. If there was a train between Las Vegas and San Diego I would have taken it. But the closest station to Las Vegas is in Needles, CA. About two hours away. The traffic was the worst part of the trip= even worse than being sick.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You got sick… then walked around for about 3 hours in 100 degree heat … So sorry to hear that.
    Hope you have fun in SD. Coronado is beautiful!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Marilyn. But I’m not convinced it was the heat. I mean, it could have been, but I was in an air conditioned car from 8 in the morning until 6 at night and it hit me about 3 or 4 in the afternoon. And lasted almost 24 hours.

      Like

  2. You know I had to come and visit your site when I saw the title trippin’ 🙂 Great shots but sorry to hear you spent some time sick.

    Like

  3. I’m amazed you didn’t get sick again after walking around for so long in that heat!! It’s been really humid in the UK which always makes my Crohn’s a bit dodgy and leaves me pretty exhausted. I know what it’s like to have to stay close to the toilets 😦 Were you originally going to do Comic-con too? It’s on my bucket list 😉 So many of my favourite authors and fantasy artists are there every year!

    Like

    1. I never thought of going to Comic-Con myself. Matt had gotten a free ticket with a friend and they went together. I met him in the evening for dinner. I guess I could have gone but never looked into a single day ticket. I used t o be a collector but somehow lost interest. But I did get to see some of the people who dressed up. They looked great. Very imaginative and detailed.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, the dressing up is all part of the fun 🙂 I have seen a few amazing outfits at festivals! I think I would go as a book character that’s never been in film then I could really use my own imagination to go with the author’s description. I’ve been reading sci-fi and fantasy since I was a kid! Early art was very much inspired by some of the great fantasy artists too 🙂 You should go sometime! I think it’s one of those things that ought to be experienced at least once 😀

        Like

  4. Being sick on vacation is the worst. I hope you are feeling better.

    I find the contrast between the 2 photos very interesting. Was it deliberate? Sand castles on one hand vs the homeless on the other.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am feeling better, thanks! The contrast was definitely deliberate. On the one hand you have people spending from $529 a night for a room at the Hotel Del Coronado where the first photo was taken while other people sleep in a tent on a sidewalk less than 6 miles away.

      Like

  5. Sorry to hear you were ill on your vacation, and not managing many photos…..but the two you have posted here are great and, as others have commented, brilliantly contrasting,

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Poor you! Being sick on vacation really s…s! But I´m glad you´re feeling better now!! The pics are great! The sandcastle is one hell of artwork! And the beach looks amazing!! The tents are a shock though… I didn´t realize it was like that so close to where other people go and spent to much money (like a hotel as you said, or going out). Here in Berlin you don´t see many homeless people on the streets, at least not during the day, although there are plenty!

    Like

    1. Yes, I was shocked when I saw them. The neighborhood where the shot was taken is only 3 blocks away from an area that has restaurants, shops, and high rise condos or apartments. It’s an area in transition.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Transition sounds not so good for those poor people living in those tents – where will they have to go to next, I wonder? I saw in a documentary something very similar happening in Japan where living conditions are very crowded: the poor and the rich side by side and nobody seems to be able to make a difference… it saddens me so much thinking about it.

        Like

  7. What a miserable trip, except for your time with Matt.
    Even still, these two photos are excellent, even if the subject of the second one is not.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

