SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 28

Prompts and Challenges

Grafton Shack-

What is your earliest memory? It was early morning. Cold and damp. Our uniforms were crusted in mud. Crouched behind enemy lines, we returned fire when the colonel called for an advance. We stood and the cannon’s started roaring around us. We could barely see through the smoke. The air was heavy with the smell of black powder. I went down in the first few steps towards the South. I remember yelling, “don’t let me die.” And then nothing…

What was the last photo you took with your phone? My phone is with me everywhere I go. I’m not as bad as my wife- who sometimes takes hers to bed- but it’s always there. And yet I usually don’t think of it as a camera. So, when I opened the photo app. to respond to this question, imagine my surprise to see a photo from June 9 of this year. The sunset was amazing and Lynn had me jump in the car to find a place to more easily view it. While there I  took this image. SOOP. Straight Out Of Phone!

IMG_1949

Have you ever danced in the rain? I swear I’m going to get killed for this but, before we were married, Lynn and I were enjoying a lazy summer night at my place when we heard distant thunder. That’s actually pretty rare in the desert, but it does happen. We went out back and watched as the rain began to pour down. Without a word, Lynn stripped to her underwear and stepped out from under the patio roof. What was I to do? I stripped down, too, thankful that there were no holes in my shorts, and joined her. Whenever I refer to it now, she blushes and denies it. “That was someone else”, she says. But we both know the truth!

What is the longest you have gone without sleep? I never did an all-nighter when in college so it would have to be upon high school graduation. My best friend and I drove from Los Angeles to San Francisco and then turned around and drove back. We never got out of the car. The only way my parents found out is that I got a ticket for speeding somewhere in King County- wherever that is.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? Last week was very uneventful, as was the weekend. Next week I am looking forward to visiting an old friend as he travels to San Diego for Comic-Con. And though I won’t be joining him during the day, I’m sure I’ll be busy exploring with my camera! 

The above is in response to Cee’s Share Your World challenge that happens every week. Except for last week when it didn’t! Please take a side trip to her site to read what other bloggers had to say. And thanks for stopping by.

041514-sywbanner

29 thoughts on “SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 28

  1. SO FUNNY!!! A good laugh for the day – thank you, Emilio.
    By the way, beautiful sunset photo… however it doesn’t have your normal flavor, like the first photo, in it.

    Like

    1. So far you’re the only one who got that. If it helps, I don’t remember last week. That’s why I couldn’t think of anything to be grateful for. Except for actually being alive, I guess.

      Like

  2. Thanks for these questions Emilio. 😀 I had fun with them. I can imagine in the desert dancing in the rain. Maybe not the way you and Lynne did, but it is an event to dance for. 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks, Cybele. I’ve been writing since high school but nothing serious, mostly for fun. And I’m having a ball just sort of ad libbing a lot lately. Only half- sometimes even less- is true! But the dancing was!

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

