Grafton Cemetery

Gallery
Fuji X-T1 JPG 18mm f/4 @1/6000 sec ISO 200 June 25, 2016

Fuji X-T1 JPG
18mm f/4 @1/6000 sec ISO 200
June 25, 2016

I’m not sure why I have such a fascination with cemeteries. Every time we find a new town- either with few live inhabitants or merely ghosts- Lynn and I will search out the cemetery. At Grafton there are a few dozen graves that stand as footnote to the harsh life of the times. There is Robert Berry, 24, his wife, Isabella Hales Berry, 20, and his brother Joseph, 22, all died on August 2, 1866, killed by indians. In the SE corner of the cemetery are the burial sites of Native Americans who were killed in the same battles.

Please visit Monochromia for a black and white version of this image plus a bit more history of the area.

21 thoughts on “Grafton Cemetery

    1. I think, when I come across one of these older “frontier” cemeteries, it is very sad and sobering. These are people who were just like us. In a different time, perhaps, but with the same hope for the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Terrific shot, Emilio! And I also share your fascination with cemeteries! 🙂 Just started to take a few pictures here in Berlin, too, but haven´t published them yet. I would love to visit those in Paris someday, they are just beautiful! Have a great day! Sarah 🙂

    Like

      1. You´re very welcome, Emilio! Your pictures always fascinate me 🙂
        If you ever plan to come and visit our cemeteries I can also recommend London!! I´ll definitely post my cemetery pics soon, thank you so much for asking for them 🙂 Have a lovely day! Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Amanda. I agree with you about the peacefulness. Except that, when we got there, there was an older woman who was actually moving a rock off a grave site so she could get a cleaner photo. I couldn’t believe it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great photo and you did a superb job processing it Emilio 🙂 I think we all have a fascination with cemeteries which is why Terry and I went up to Sleepy Hollow Cemetery 2 years ago. As you walk through the cemetery you are seeing past history with familiar names on the gravestones such as Walter Chrysler, Washington Irving, Andrew Carnegie and so on. You can’t help but be fascinated.

    Like

    1. I have never come across any names that I would recognize in these smaller cemeteries. But this one really effected me when the descriptions became more specific as in “Killed by Indians” or a 4 month old baby who’s inscription read “Diptheria”.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. True! I don’t think I’ve ever been as moved as I was at this one, though. Most markers say, wife (or husband), mother (father), daughter (son). This one had all 3 people on one marker and how they died. Quite a legacy.

      Like

  3. Beautiful photo with the way the light is shining on the gravestones. That is a very interesting story. Times were very hard back in those days. So sad that a family had to die so young (as well as the Indians).

    Like

  4. Oh so stunning and wonderfully processed. I like cemeteries too. What does that say about us? My first camera club event was at a mortuary LOL! A lot of people showed up and a couple said it was an odd choice hahaha. I hadn’t even thought it was strange until someone said it.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

