Cee’s SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 26

Prompts and Challenges
Grafton Ghost Town June 26, 2016 Fuji X-T1 jpg 18mm f/13 at 1/60 sec ISO 200

Grafton Ghost Town
June 25, 2016
Fuji X-T1 jpg
18mm f/13 at 1/60 sec ISO 200

What’s your most memorable (good or bad) airplane flight? It was a one hour flight from Burbank Bob Hope Airport (a suburb of Los Angeles) to San Francisco. Just as we were coming in for a landing after an uneventful flight, the plane made a steep climb and the engines howled in protest. After we were safely leveled off, the pilot came on to apologize. Seems we were almost on the ground when another jet taxied in front of us. It was all he could do to avoid a collision. It was about 5 years later before I flew again. And to this day, I’d rather drive or take the train.

How many bones, if any, have you broken? I was in a fight only once in my life. In high school I made a suggestive comment to a girl who then told her boyfriend. He met up with me after school and we went at it. But I didn’t break any of his bones. Just bloodied him up a little! I dated the girl for about a year after that!

If you had your own talk show, who would your first three guests be? (guest can be dead, alive, famous or someone you just know). Well, my first inclination was to say Katharine Hepburn and Cary Grant- two of my most favorite actors. If they had prior commitments, it would have to be my wife, Lynn- who is a great storyteller and the funniest person I know, and my grandfather who’s WW II stories I’d love to hear. To round out either pair of guests, I would love to speak to Lucy Grealy, writer of Autobiography of a Face. If you have never heard of her, please read about her here.

Make a Currently List: What are you reading, (Well, just before bed each night I relax with a chapter from Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell.) watching, (As I’ve stated before, we do not watch tv. We do watch movies, the last one being a documentary on the musical group Pentatonix.) listening to, ( Right now, in my office, I am listening to Yanni Radio on Pandora.) eating, (I just had a cheese sandwich, followed by a spoonful of peanut butter and some iced coffee.) needing, (I can’t really say there’s anything I need.) wanting,  (I always seem to want to either be taking pictures or processing pictures, lately.) and missing right now?  (As for missing? I do miss my grandfather. There seems to be so much I want to tell him.)

Well, that’s it for now. I am avoiding Cee’s bonus question because I can’t think of any one thing I am grateful for from last week. Don’t tell my wife but I am looking forward to NOT going to visit her relatives for the 4th. Not that I don’t like her relatives. I do. I’m just grateful not to be on the road on that weekend.

So please go check out some other participants of Cee’s Share your world. And come back next week for more of her questions and more of my answers. If you have no other prior commitments, that is!

 

40 thoughts on “Cee’s SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 26

        1. No, it wasn’t either of these. From what I remember, you wrote that you were playing around with lightroom and had added- among other things, a golden glow coming from the doors and windows. Maybe I can find it through the past comments I have made.

          Like

  1. I had a flight like yours once. I was on a DC-10 flying into O’Hare (Chicago). We actually had the big screen and they showed our take-off and landing on it. We were about to land at O’Hare and all of a sudden the screen was turned off and the plane ascended upwards real fast. Did a quick trip around to land, successfully. It was a near miss of something.

    I hate traveling on holiday weekends too.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

