Changing Seasons – June

Prompts and Challenges
Calico Basin

Calico Basin

Six months of Cardinal Guzman’s The Changing Seasons? That’s the second longest commitment I’ve ever made- the first being marriage. So, if you click on the link above, you can get all the rules. In short, I am taking one photo a month in an area near Red Rock Canyon in Las Vegas called Calico Basin. In that way, you will supposedly get to see the change of seasons around here. But around here there are no change of seasons. It’s just hot, more hot, and less hot. When I took this photo, we hadn’t even reached the summer solstice yet and it was already 108. Since then, still in the month of June, we have reached an official high of 115- even though the thermostat in my car read 120. Lately, the temperature has been hovering in the low 100’s. The rest of this week the forecast is for 110 today, 106 tomorrow, 107 Saturday, and 109 for Sunday. And all next week is more of the same. I can hardly wait for August, our hottest month. So, anyway, I had to cheat on the above photo. Rather than just a straight out of camera rendition of 108 degrees, I added a light leak and bleached out the image to approximate how hot it was.

It was hot!

Below is a slideshow of all the changes to date.

January through June.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

42 thoughts on “Changing Seasons – June

  1. You like button won’t load, so I didn’t “like” you, but I love it. I remember in Israel we used to come up with positive things to say about the weather, like “It never rains on your summer picnic,” and “you never need a clothes drying after April.” Once the winter rains were over, usually in March, it was warm. Very warm. Hot. Really hot. Ghastly hot. Unbreathably hot. Too hot to get up off the floor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marilyn, I burned my hands yesterday when I accidently touched the metal clasp on the seat belts. And I had left my sunglasses in the car so couldn’t even put them on, they were so hot. I’ve lived here 17 years and I think every summer gets hotter. I love that last one “too hot to get up off the floor”. That will be my new mantra!

      Like

  2. Gosh – that’s hot. I really enjoyed your slide show and the glimpses of a truly awe inspiring part of the world.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Suzanne. It is awe inspiring at times. But then I guess wherever you are can be awe inspiring when you really look around and experience it. The camera helps me to do that.

      Like

  3. So now I’m wondering which is worse – 110F/43C in the desert or 95F/35C in the city with a humidex reading around 110F/43C. That’s our forecast for Sunday. Either way, it will feel like hell to me.

    I like your slide show showing your monthly seasonal photo. Great idea!

    Like

    1. Joanne, I remember one August in New York. You would shower in the morning and by the time you got dressed, you would need another shower. Nothing is worse than summer in the city. I complain about the temperature here but I’m able to , at least, dress for work.

      Like

        1. They always used to say “it’s not the heat, it’s the humidity” but since the growth in population in the Las Vegas Valley and the importation of non-native greenery, we have got increased humidity. Of course it’s only about 20%, I think. Still low. But one of these days….

          Like

    1. I’m enjoying the story. I think, because of the internet, shorter stories- or shorter segments of stories- keep my interest. I understand this is how most of Dickens work was published- in short chapters in magazines. At least I think it was him. Anyway, I love the detail in the story. Little things like him not liking human blood! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you sooo much, Emilio!!! 🙂 I´m so glad that you enjoyed this episode! And you´re absolutely right: it was Dickens who started to publish his stories that way! (Except that he got paid for it 😉 ) Wish you a great sunday!! x

        Like

  4. I’m sweating…haha. Your shots really do convey the heat, Emilio, and are terrific. The only time I was passing through Vegas it was 110 degrees.. a wee bit uncomfortable. (Like button still not there, btw)

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

