And Another Thing…

Gallery
Cabin Door

Cabin Door

I want to thank everyone who visited and commented on my previous post Fuji RAW VS JPEG. The back and forth was exciting and fun. And it made me realize, finally, that maybe we don’t really need RAW anymore with Fuji’s great strides in image quality and in-camera processing. I say maybe because, though I plan on continuing to shoot in RAW, I will mostly be using it as a backup until the time I feel I don’t need it anymore. If that time ever comes. So, that doesn’t help with the storage question. But it’s not like I have hundreds of thousands of files right now. There are only about 5,000. (I just filled up my first terabyte external hard drive.)

But here’s something that wasn’t even mentioned in that earlier post. With the image above- and most of my other images- there is no noise, no chromatic aberration, and no additional sharpening was needed. True, it was shot in bright sun. But with my Canon (granted I only used the kit lense) I always had to adjust for those. And with the Fuji, the noise is minimal when I shoot in low light and is easy to compensate for with little or no artifacts.

So I’m one happy camper.

🙂

23 thoughts on “And Another Thing…

  1. By the way hard drives are very cheap these days so storage should not be a problem. In addition to my redundant backups on two hard drives I also use Amazon Cloud which is $11.99 per year (if you pay in full rather than the monthly plan) or if you have Amazon Prime it’s already included. I just use it as a safety net.

    Like

  2. It would b e nice to not have to edit sometimes. Unfortunately, I never find that to be the case for me. It is good to know how well the Fuji performs. Be nice if it did that to a Tiff or RAW file nd not a JPEG.

    Like

  3. Han’s comment is interesting! I think it’s fantastic that you don’t even have to sharpen, no noise – this is a great image. I enjoy the editing process a lot, and typically I shoot jpeg because I don’t print much.

    Like

  4. I forgot to mention that the Fuji has no OLPF (optical low pass filter) over the sensor which is why compared to your Canon no additional sharpening is needed. Fuji eliminated moire (which is what an OLPF was designed to do) by the X-Trans sensor layout which is different from a traditional Bayer sensor. Using a OLPF is like spending $3000 on a lens then rubbing Vasoline on it.

    Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

