Fuji RAW Vs JPEG

Gallery
Fuji JPEG

Fuji JPEG

So, if you’ve been reading my post for any amount of time, you must know about Joe. Joe Giordano. I mention him about as often as I mention my wife. My wife got me back into photography. Joe got me to buy a Fuji X-T1. And a 23mm lens, then an 18-55mm zoom, and just lately, a 55-200 zoom. Now I have no money to go anywhere.ย So, Joe’s big thing (careful there) is that he now shoots mainly JPEG because of the quality of the Fuji. He feels RAW is unnecessary. Well, you be the judge. The above image is shot JPEG with minimal editing. The version below is RAW with minimal editing. The only difference is that I used the Classic Chrome film simulation in camera on the JPEG, in Lightroom on the RAW. All edits were completed in Lightroom and the two files were synced (sunc?) with the same edits. If you do not understand, I will try to explain better or have Joe jump in! Please let me know which you prefer in the comments. I have my preference and it was really no contest.

FUJI RAW

FUJI RAW

To make it a little easier to compare, please take a look at the slideshow below. As I stated, all edits are the same on both except the Classic Chrome was done in camera on the JPEG, in Lightroom on the RAW.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

89 thoughts on “Fuji RAW Vs JPEG

    1. I think that’s exactly the conclusion I came to. I do prefer fiddling around in Lightroom and the other apps I own. That doesn’t prevent me using the jpeg- I just feel like I have more control over color and noise, etc.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I don’t see any difference at all, but that’s the thing about online. By the time it hits my very high def monitor, whatever differences there might have been have vanished. Which is one of several reasons I don’t bother with RAW. It’s not that I don’t believe it can deliver higher quality, but it’s RAW files are gigantic and by the time I’ve finished converting them to JPEG, I’m not sure what (if anything) I’ve accomplished. So I just don’t. There’s a lot of other stuff I don’t do anymore. I don’t save high def files becaue I’m not printing. If I’m just posting online, the difference is moot. I’m all for great images, but I’m also for not wasting HD space and a lot of time and effort. I believe more people do the same than are willing to admit it. Good composition, good color, and NOT over-cooking the processing are far more important, in my opinion. Which, I grant you, is just my opinion and isnt’ worth all that much.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well, Marilyn, your opinion may not be worth all that much, but then whose is? What you said makes a lot of sense and I agree with it. But I do shoot and process RAW because I want to be able to print high quality images. But online, the quality is excellent with either jpeg or RAW.

      Like

      1. I just read your followup post. Only 5000 pictures. I have more than 100,000 … and THREE external hard drives, ranging in size from 1 to 3 TBs. The 1 TB hard drive on my laptop is filling up fast. It seemed huge when I got this computer … less than 2 year ago.

        Like

  2. I think by now you already know my preference Emilio ๐Ÿ™‚ To me the detail in the tree bark, the deeper shadows and slightly higher contrast in the JPEG file make it more appealing to me. If I owned any other camera brand I would shoot raw but since switching from Nikon to Fuji 95% of the time I will shoot JPEG because of their flexibility. By the way I prefer the Fuji in camera film simulations to the film simulations in Adobe Lightroom. Now that we talked about JPEG vs. RAW lets talk about the excellent image you used for this comparison. I love the composition and lone person in this image. Great work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I realized almost from the first that I do not like Lightroom’s film simulations. And I love Classic Chrome. So if I’m not going to play with the colors too much, I will use the jpeg. On this image I much preferred the jpeg.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I vote for RAW any day because it can b e re-edited with safety. A JPEG file is a one time deal; any time you write over it you introduce artifacts. JPEGs are inherently lossy. Raw has more information in the file. Dark blacks and seemingly blown out whites can be fixed in RAW, but not in a JPEG. With the price of hard drives so low who cares about the file size. JPEGs are great if all your shots are near perfect. Mine are not that good yet; therefore, I need the wiggle room that RAW offers.
    Both your images are terrific.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sherry. I don’t agree with your argument about jpeg processing- at least in Fuji- as you can see from this example the jpeg has no additional artifacts. But I also do love the wiggle room RAW gives me. And I have 4 hard drives now. And I use dropbox!

      Like

  4. i am a fuji fan, but not a fan boy. in my experience, the in-camera film simulations and jpegs are just great, not to mention the in-camera raw processing too. lr raw only comes into the picture for extreme shooting/recovery conditions. otherwise, imho, not much to gain mucking about in lr when the image quality is already so good. might as well spend the time out there shooting. have a nice weekend, emilio and co, ken.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s what it’s all about Ken putting the fun back in shooting which Fuji JPEG’s did for me. With the electronic viewfinders these cameras are equipped with now you can use the exposure compensation dial (which I do a lot) to dial your image in before you take the shot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i couldn’t agree with you more, joe. the jpegs are just great with minimal work required once you set the in-camera/exposure settings right. the EVF is definitely a boon, i actually see more or less exactly what i will be getting when i press the shutter. and, yeah, the jpegs have quite some latitude too for edits/correction, pretty amazing stuff. have you bought a x-pro2/going for a x-t2? regards, ken

        Liked by 1 person

    2. ” lr raw only comes into the picture for extreme shooting/recovery conditions.” I can live with that- also when I want to play with a color shift. Still, I can’t give up playing in Lightroom. It relaxes me. Much better than watching TV! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I will politely disagree with Joe. RAW is always best because it has the most information over jpeg. You will have more information to work with in post processing over jpegs no matter what the camera. Your image is so beautiful! Nice job!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laura, you don’t have to be polite with Joe. He’s Italian! I do feel that in certain situations the jpeg would be fine- like for posting online or, maybe, when printing smaller photos. But for professional quality printing I would go with RAW.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. First of all, lovely shot Emilio! Tell you the truth I wouldn’t be able to pick between the two as to which was was which. I always shot RAW and post in jpeg. As Sherry said, more info in the file which also helps when it comes to printing as I learned the hard way when trying to get a jpeg image professionally printed. The Fuji is great for processing in camera RAW, plus with wifi it can go straight to the iphone and posted from there to anywhere. Speaking about the iPhone where it’s all super-raw jpeg anyway, and from which I do a lot of my shooting and, as it turns out, processing when I want to play around with an image. LR is not my go to but that’s because I am lazy. As for the file size issue I think I have cracked that one – I take far fewer photos than once upon a time and the delete button has become my best friend. Plus I have a few external hard drives bouncing around like puppies.

    Have fun, raw or jpeg!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You seem much more advanced technologically than me. I can’t imagine processing on my iphone because the screen is so small. But I agree with you about printing. The Fuji jpeg might do better than others, but I would still prefer RAW for printing. Until I do a test on paper. I think the RAW would do best with high contrast between light and dark, or high ISO.

      Liked by 1 person

          1. All of this is so beyond my understanding (you will not be surprised to hear me say that, I know), but I really am trying to learn! Loved reading this comment section, Emilio

            Liked by 1 person

            1. This post has generated one of my favorite comment sections. I Love it better than the post itself. OK, almost. The thing is, I am trying to learn, too. And since I am a slow learner, it may be a lifelong endeavor. I sure hope so as this discussion has got me really excited!

              Like

      1. Not at all technologically advanced Emilio as I often feel I am groping in the dark where LR is concerned but then processing is not as great a priority for me as perhaps it should be. As for the iPhone, I often post from there to Instagram and Tumblr which are so much more mobile friendly than WP will ever be. The quality of work showing up there is particularly inspiring. Sure there are plenty of selfies and food shots but they’re everywhere anyway but easily avoidable.

        Back to the raw, jpeg business, I’m sticking with the raw but then that’s my insecurity showing!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Great discussion – got here via the wonderful Patti Kuche :-). I definitely see the difference, and prefer the jpeg for the same reasons – mostly the tree bark holds the RAW one back but overall, the jpeg lets you in smoothly, doesn’t it? And Capitol Reef! I love that place! I’ve been wanting to get back there for so long. I will! I will!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Patti is great. We had a chance to meet when she and her husband were here on a business trip. As for the Fuji RAW,, if you use the Classic Chrome from Lightroom, the shadows seem more dense and there is a bit more contrast than the in camera Fuji version. I probably could have got them even closer but I think the test came out pretty darn good. And Capitol Reef? What’s not to like. We have said we will go back soon- probably the fall- as we are really not that far.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Agreed, Raewyn. There is minimal difference. And I now wonder if there is any true benefit to shooting RAW with these FUJI cameras. We went out yesterday and last night I played around with some of the shots in jpeg. No problem opening up shadows or shifting colors so my previous reservations are pretty much inconsequential now.

      Like

  8. Beautiful photos. My eyes aren’t that great anymore so I can’t tell the difference. I wonder how much computer screens affect what we see too? I took a photo of an amazing sunset we had last week. The colours were great on the screen on the back of my camera but when I downloaded to my laptop it seemed to have lost a lot of the colour brilliance. I had to play around with the colour & contrast to get it looking as good as the photo in the camera.

    Like

    1. I have a real problem with laptop screens. When you move- sit lower, higher, to the left or right- you seem to alter the saturation of the image. I sometimes will check the colors on my tablet or iphone. They don’t seem to have the same problem.

      Like

  9. Great photo as usual, Emilio.
    Like so many others have mentioned, there is no right answer – just the best choice for each photographer.
    I expect ‘pretty good’ photos to share with the family – straight from the camera – so JPEG is the best choice for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Though I did purchase a Fuji lens from Joe, that’s about it- though I keep begging him for more. He would be a great salesman for Fuji. Me? I just love the camera and their lenses. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

