Pure

Prompts and Challenges

DSCF5751-Edit-Edit

For this week’s Daily Post photo challenge, Jen H. wants us to share a photo of something pure — it can be a person, an object, or a moment. “Pure,” she says, “can convey wholesomeness, something undiluted, or simplicity.” Well, in that case, this photo fits the bill. What can be more wholesome than a country road (well, except for maybe a bucket of newly drawn milk or the smile of a new born baby, or…), more simple than the joy one finds in embracing a hundred year old Fremont Cottonwood tree. (But to embrace this particular tree it would have taken perhaps five people with interlocking hands, to encircle the trunk.) Anyway, the image above is my attempt to convey a feeling of wholesomeness, undiluted, and simple.

“O Lord, help me to be pure, but not yet.” ~~ Saint Augustine

27 thoughts on “Pure

  1. Beautiful. I’ll take the tree – I’ve never drawn milk so haven’t a clue, but when my son was newly born he wasn’t smiling and I just wanted a cup of tea and graham crackers! (I felt totally guilty by that!)

    Like

      1. No, but now that I re-read my comment it it seems that way. I was thinking of cows and newly born babies as two separate things. I was in labor for like 2 days – all I remember is being exhausted! No smiling

        Like

    1. Well, Laura. Now I have a problem. If I am artistic, then what do I call you? You are far above me in everything; talent, knowledge, skill. I look at your photos and drool. Which wouldn’t necessarily be a problem if they were in a book. But do you have any idea what drool does to your keyboard?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL….maybe you should invest in kleenex stock? 😉 But seriously….we all bring something different to the table. Honestly I’m my own worst critic and always look at other photos and wonder how they do it! So welcome to the club. 🙂

        Like

        1. So you’re not going to tell me how you do it? But seriously, I wouldn’t want to know. I look at your stuff- and other people’s stuff- and as I try to duplicate a look, a texture or something, I discover a look all my own. I mean nothing is really your own, is it? Nothing is original. I just stumble into something that I like while trying to imitate somebody else’s work. Making any sense? I admit it’s late right now and we just got back from a hike and all I want to do is jump into the shower and then to bed. So thank you and goodnight!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I like learning techniques but knowing how someone exactly did something sort of puts a damper on things creatively I think. I do enjoy trying to figure it out though because then I learn something new that I might integrate into one of my own photos.

            Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

