SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 23

Prompts and Challenges

20160526-DSCF6840-Edit-Edit-EditOne of my favoritest people in the whole blogging world whom I’ve never met is Cee Neuner. Why, you ask? Because she actually takes an interest in me. Every week she asks me questions and waits with bated breath for my answers.

OK, other people answer, too.

And her breath is probably equally as bated.

But let me live with my fantasies.

So, this week…

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)? You mean besides the gigolo gig that only lasted one night because…, well, it’s a bit embarrassing? ((Let’s just blame it on too much to drink.) But my real first job was in the fast food industry. For libel considerations, let’s just say it was a fast food chicken place. Fast fried chicken. You had to wear clothes and shoes that you didn’t care much about because after the first day, you could not get rid of the smell, nor of the grease that would splatter everywhere. I remember one time placing the frozen chicken pieces into the frying basket when one breast fell on the floor. I was instructed to still put it in the basket as the heat of the oil would kill any germs. And though this may be true, I still do not eat fast food- even though I’m sure worse things can and do happen in regular restaurants. And the smell of fried chicken can still make me gag.

What is your favorite month of the year? I don’t really have a favorite month. I have a least favorite month and that would be June, July, and August. Better known as summer. This year, the month of summer began on May 31, with an outdoor temperature well over 100 degrees. Today is forecast for 107, tomorrow is 109. But there’s good news. Saturday and Sunday might not make it to 100. A veritable cold spell.

What three things in nature do you find most beautiful? My wife, clouds, and everything else. I love everything about nature- except in the month of summer.

List at least five of your favorite spices? (excluding salt and pepper) Cee, you can’t exclude salt. It’s the spice of the gods, or something. I’ve got nothing if I can’t talk salt. OK, wait. I like cayenne. I sprinkle a little on almost everything- pizza, pasta, egg dishes. I’ve seen a chocolate bar seasoned with cayenne but I can’t do it. That seems sacrilegious to both chocolate and cayenne. Other spices? There’s also parsley, oregano, bay leaves, and basil. All great Italian spices. Can’t make a good sauce/gravy without them.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? What happened last week? I don’t remember. Oh, yeah, we went into Utah to visit family and friends and turned the 5 hour trip into 12 hours by stopping at almost every exit to explore for photo opportunities. And what am I looking forward to in the week coming up? Well, we are supposed to have a cold spell this weekend (Saturday, 97 and Sunday, 95) so maybe time for more photos. Speaking of which, the photo above was taken last weekend but I don’t remember exactly which exit it was.

Now go visit Cee’s Share Your World challenge to read more interesting answers to the above questions.

No, I’m not saying my responses were necessarily interesting. But if you made it all the way down here, then something must have caught your attention. Now go.

That’s all I’ve got.

Really.

My last word?

Go!

The End.

34 thoughts on “SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 23

  1. It’s a great picture, “even if you don’t remember where it is. I never remember half the places I shoot, so I try to take a pictures of a sign or something that will remind me. Garry taught me to do that. He always did a location shot when he was covering a story because he would cover sometimes four or five in a day and he wouldn’t remember which video went with which story otherwise.

    I do not envy you your weather. January in Arizona, though … THAT was great!

    Like

  2. Emilio, you always make me smile and I do wait of your responses with bated breath. Chocolate and Cayenne is really a good combination. Although the chocolate I eat is 70-80% chocolate and quite bitter. So the Cayenne really goes well with it.
    I can see why you can’t stand fried chicken. Gives me nightmares just reading your story.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Cee. I’ve seen chocolate and bacon, too. What is it with bacon nowadays? It’s in everything. Maybe the salty taste? That’s certainly my downfall, salt over sugar. But I haven’t been near any meat for about half my life now. Sometimes I miss it, but not enough to have any.

      Like

  3. Your answers made me laugh. My children can relate to your fast food experience as they both worked in a fast food shop and even washing the clothes didn’t get rid of the smell. I am like you – it takes me twice as long to drive anywhere with a camera. I stop all the time for photos. I do try to get establishing shots but sometimes I forget and then forget where I took it so if I have any vague descriptions you know why. Love your shot. It reminds me of the book Little Women for some reason….

    Like

  4. Does the use of that photo mean you’re sheepish about your answers, the gigolo one in particular? Hmmm. We’re having some lovely cool weather right now, but it’s going to be hot (and humid) all too soon–up to about 90 by the weekend. That’s about the temperature where my dad calls from Arizona to tell me they’re having a cool day. 🙂

    My first (more or less) job was waitressing, something I would do again to keep from starving, but not otherwise.

    janet

    Like

    1. Why is everyone stuck on the gigolo thing? It was a job, like any other! 🙂 Having started my occupational history in the service industry might be why I dislike people so much. You get to see the worst before the best a lot of times. Waitressing has to be one of the worst jobs. Almost as bad as airline “hostess”. By the way, I happened to come across websites for horse sales of miniature horses. Pretty inexpensive to purchase. Do you have any knowledge of them? I’m not buying, just curious.

      Like

      1. I don’t really know anything useful about miniature horses, Emilio, except that they’re too small to ride, which is one of the things I love most about horses. 🙂 Sorry I can’t help.

        Like

    1. 88F is a picnic. Why when I was young, we had months of weather below that. And the snow drifts would be up to the roof line. I had to walk 4 miles to school without shoes. I had a coat handed down from my deceased uncle who expired while walking 5 miles to work barefoot in the snow. Of course, he was 99 when he died so maybe the cold had nothing to do with it. We were so looking forward to his 100th birthday but he didn’t make it. We had the party anyway. What a blowout!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh man! You broke my heart. I thought I was your favorite person (next to your wife, of course). Now I will have to find someone else to admire me. 😦 Wow, it really gets hot where you live! Sounds almost as bad as Phoenix. Love the photo of ?the old schoolhouse?

    Like

    1. PJ, I said “One of my favoritest people in the whole blogging world”. Note the qualifier. “One of my favoritest”! She might not be the favoritest- in which case it could be you. But no one can beat my wife, the little woman. And I think Phoenix does have us beat. I think!

      Like

  6. I loved the fried chicken experience. Scary to think that food on the floor is fed to customers in fast food places! Cool image too…I love those sheep. baaahhhhhh!

    Like

  7. Stunning image – I love the composition – those sheep cooperated! – and the juxtaposition of the building and sheep and that sky, so creamy. And the colors, I will stop now.

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

