Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – May

Prompts and Challenges

May at Calico Basin

This is the fifth month of Cardinal Guzman’s The Changing Seasons. If you click on that link, you can get all the rules. In short, I am taking one photo a month in an area near Red Rock Canyon in Las Vegas called Calico Basin. Supposedly, you will then see the changing seasons. But, as I have explained each month, this is Las Vegas. Pretty much a desert, except for the neon lights. So winter looks like summer which looks like spring that looks like fall. The above image, shot in early May, on my way home from work one night, could be considered my late spring shot. The outside temperature at 4:30 in the afternoon was 94 degrees. Summer, winter, and fall won’t look much different. I can hardly wait for Christmas.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

29 thoughts on “Cardinal Guzman’s Changing Seasons – May

  1. I have to laugh about the temperatures, Emilio. My parents live in Mesa, AZ and sometimes in summer my dad will call to say it’s only going to be 100 that day or maybe, if there’s a cold spell, 90. 🙂 I know it’s dry heat, but over a certain temperature, it’s simply HOT.

    janet

    Like

    1. I’ve lived in New York and in August, when the temperature climbs towards the 100’s, you take a shower in the morning and by the time your dressed you’re drenched in sweat. Believe me, I’ll take dry heat- but what I’d really like is a more temperate climate. Maybe the south of France! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, talk about living in the middle of nowhere?? Sure hope that tin can has air conditioning 🙂 And I like Sue’s suggestion – you’re the master of adding light to images; seems adding in some snow shouldn’t be too difficult or at least make a stormy-looking image to change it up 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for the vote of confidence, Stacy, but both my laptop and desktops are acting up lately and I haven’t been able to add clouds. I keep crashing. So snow drifts might be out of the question. But I’ll keep playing with what I’ve got.

      Like

  3. When I lived in Israel, where the weather is very similar, I missed seasons. Now that I’ve been back for 40 years, I’m really missing those long, long, dry summers. Those endlessly blue skies. I probably would still miss the seasons, especially fall … but I honestly could live without winter and ever seeing snow again.

    Like

    1. Not me, Marilyn. I love living under blue skies. But for photography, I find them lacking. Still, I don’t miss snowdrifts of 6 feet or so. Now, a variety? That would be heaven!

      Like

  4. I LOVE that caravan! It would look very nice at the end of my garden 🙂
    And even if your desert doesn’t look very different from month to month, your photos are and they are wonderful. I also find reading the comments fun!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

