The Underground

Gallery
Goldfield NV

Goldfield NV

Yeah, I know what you were thinking. You were hoping, maybe, this post would have something to say about the upcoming presidential election and how an underground railroad to Canada has been initiated. Or an underground movement to get Jon Stewart elected President has been formed. Actually, I believe there really is an underground railroad to Canada, but it’s very much above ground. You can even take a plane- one that flies very high above ground- if you can’t stand to be the laughing stock of the world a second longer. And there really is a movement to elect Jon Stewart President afoot. But, alas, this is to be a very tame and apolitical post about the London Underground tube canopies (I don’t know what else to call them) that we found in Goldfield NV a few months ago. That’s my post. This photo. And if anyone can add anything to this most interesting incongruous placement of London Underground tube canopies in Goldfield Nevada, please just jump right in.

51 thoughts on “The Underground

    1. We have no winter clothes Sue. Did you forget we live in a desert? But you and Lynn can go shopping. I won’t drag Dave with me. I can handle it alone. Unless, of course, he likes to shop for clothes.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Fabulous shot especially with that old falling down wooden building in the back. Nicely processed. I laugh when people say they’re going to move to Canada. My cousin did yet he’s here more then there it seems because of the snow. I can’t stand either option for president. It’s all gotten ridiculous and I fear we will never have someone meaningful in the office again. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, keep laughing. We already have a place lined up in Canada. Both Hillary and Trump scare me so I’m with you. But as for someone meaningful in the office- both candidates are very meaningful. Just in a negative way.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ship, I would imagine if it was early 20th century…I did a brief Internet search, but didn’t come up with anything about these….

        Like

            1. You’re right, Sue. I just assumed they were of English descent because the style is reminiscent- to me- of the London underground that I’ve seen in old b & w movies. They could be German or Scandinavian for all I know. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

  2. The odd things you manage to come across in your photographic journeys, Emilio, never cease to amaze! Would truly love to know the backstory to these. In the meantime, I’ll simply have to enjoy your wonderful interpretation of the scene 🙂 Nice processing!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Stacy. It sure is nice to have you back. Hope your new place doesn’t feel too lonely without the patter of little feet around! 🙂 You must miss both your daughter and your dog, That doesn’t sound right but I hope you know what I mean.

      Like

        1. The new place is starting to look and feel like home. We should paint but are too lazy. Mostly unpacked except I can’t get into my closet. That’s filled with boxes of memorabilia (I was a collector) and I should put items on ebay or something but haven’t yet.

          Like

          1. Glad to hear that, Emilio (about it feeling like home). Have you ever used eBay? I’ve got some things that I’ve been thinking about selling on there but haven’t taken the plunge either. Unfortunately the time is ticking and if I don’t make a move soon, it’s going to either be donated or junked. I’d rather have the cold hard cash 🙂

            Like

  3. I read through all of the comments, hoping that someone might know why the tube canopies from Englad are in Nevada. Guess it will remain a mystery! Great shot, by the way.
    And as far as Hilary and Trump go, I appreciate these words from PJ O’Roarke: “I am endorsing Hillary, and all her lies and all her empty promises,” O’Rourke continued. “It’s the second-worst thing that can happen to this country, but she’s way behind in second place. She’s wrong about absolutely everything, but she’s wrong within normal parameters.”
    For as many people who don’t like Hilary, Trump is far, far worse (IMHO)

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

