Raison d’etre

Prompts and Challenges
Caliente Station

Caliente Station

I love raisons. My wife hates them. She says there’s just too much concentrated sugar in all dried fruit. Maybe that’s why I like them? But having said that, I know we’re not talking about dried fruit but rather what makes us do what we do.

In her Daily Post for this challenge, Krita writes that “Raison d’être is a French term, meaning ‘the reason or justification for existence.'” But why should I have to justify my existence. Cogito ergo sum as Rene Descartes proposed, and that should be enough for anyone. Yet, all my life I’ve had to justify my existence. We all do. It’s not enough to sit in a corner and think, then expect to receive any kind of adulation or remuneration for doing so. OK, unless your name is Rene Descartes.

Mine is Emilio Pasquale. And my raison d’etre- besides trying to keep my wife happy all night and day- is taking photos and maybe, one day, creating a piece of art that someone else, besides my wife, will want to hang in their home.

Addendum

After I posted, I realized what I said was not entirely true. Photography fills that creative need for me. I feel at peace when I’m out with my camera. Hunger, pain, or any of the bodily functions that normally rule my daily existence are of no concern when I have that camera to my eye. I can only relate it to how a hunter must feel when he or she is on the scent of something exciting. Yet I do not destroy.

I preserve!

50 thoughts on “Raison d’etre

  1. What a great photo! I love how crisp it is and the contrast. Very nice. Raisins are ok like in stewed apples etc. Your wife is right about the concentrated sugar. What I adore are pitted prunes!!!

    Like

  2. I would be more than glad to hang this image or many of your others on my wall Emilio 🙂 I also love the addendum you posted !

    Like

  3. Emilio, I enjoyed this ramble of thoughts. I love raisins and I love being out with my camera. Why would anyone not want to hang one of your photos? You do wonderful work and this photo is no exception.

    janet

    Like

    1. Thanks, Janet. It did start out as a ramble. I only had the starting point of loving raisins (raisons). But it quickly became something else. I’m glad you liked it, and like my photos.

      Like

  4. Love how your mind works, Emilio 🙂 I’ve missed seeing your work these past months (my fault, not yours). Love the clarity and the wonderful patterns of light and shadow, not to mention your explanation! Keep on keepin’ on – your “raison” is definitely the right one!!

    Like

        1. Stacy, I’m simply amazed you would even go there. But, since you ask, Lynn does a great job at keeping me busy at night- what with cooking dinner, then cleaning up.Giving her a back-rub, turning the bed covers down for her, etc. My work is never done!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. Emilio, as always, I’m captivated by your photo and your words.
    The shadows, clarity, and color are fabulous.
    Keep on preserving, my friend!

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

