SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 10

Prompts and Challenges

With this week’s Share Your World, Cee (of Cee’s Photography) has added a disclaimer:

With your answers, please remember we are in the SYW world, which may not always match our reality.

What would you ask for if a genie granted you three wishes? This one is easy as I’ve been thinking about it more or less all week. The first thing I would ask for is three additional wishes. Three for me and three for the world. And I think I could wish away all the world’s problems with one wish only, that everyone treat everyone else with respect. Pure and simple. Maybe that, alone, wouldn’t rid us of hunger but it sure would go a far way in containing it. If you respected someone, would you stand by and watch them starve? Maybe I’m being simplistic or naive but, as Cee says, the SYW world may not always match our reality. Also, if we’re wishing in the SYW world, I would like larger hands!

What experiences are most meaningful to you? To me? When Lynn finally caved and said “All right, already. I’ll marry you!” That was pretty darn meaningful. Usually, though, it is the small, unexpected gesture that is the most meaningful.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? I think I answered something like this once before. I wanted to be a doctor, then realized there was blood involved. I’ve always had dreams of being someone famous in the arts- specifically acting, directing, or writing. But I got sidetracked at an early age by a lack of support and no guts!

Complete this sentence:  The best day of my life was….  Well, actually, there are two. Both involve Lynn. One was when we married. The other was a night we spent at Cowboy Inn, a ramshackle motel in the middle of nowhere Arizona, not too far from Lake Charles and Monument Valley.The rooms were all cowboy themed and looked like they had not been updated, except for indoor plumbing, since the west was won. In the middle of the night, Lynn got up to go to the bathroom and swore she heard Elvis singing. That started us on a laughing jag that went on for a good hour at about 3 or 4 in the morning and I’m sure, if there were other motel guests that night, they must have complained.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I’m grateful we took the day off Thursday and drove into Death Valley for the super blooms. The hype and the photoshopped images on the internet are much better than the reality. But it was still beautiful to see. We ran out of light just as we found the perfect spot for photos and hope to make it back out there this week. But they are very sensitive flowers and could be gone if it gets too hot during the week. So, fingers crossed. (I believe you can click on any of these photos to see a larger image, if you wish!)

43 thoughts on “SHARE YOUR WORLD – 2016 WEEK 10

  1. Enjoy reading “sharing your world”, Emilio. Really like the first one, but why can people respect other people? I agree, it’s so pure and simple.
    Love your photos of the Death Valley. Great shots!

    Like

  2. Just wondering what you were going to do with the rest of those wishes. 🙂 I only saw two: respect and hands. I like the flower shots, whether “artistic” or not. It’s always nice to get away for part of a day, a day, or longer.

    janet

    Like

    1. The “hands” bit was due to Trump’s quote about his own hands. I thought it was funny. As for the rest of my wishes, I really don’t have any for myself. I just wish the world wasn’t such a scary place, what with Trump and Isis and Clinton and I could go on but then I’d probably offend you. If I haven’t already.

      Like

  3. How fun to find someone else who would wish for more wishes 🙂 I very much enjoyed your post, and I’m glad you shared the desert wildflowers. I’d read about them, but I’ve never had a chance to see them blooming.

    Like

    1. They are a bit of a disappointment because professionals have shot them from every angle under every lighting condition and this day was overcast. But it was fun to get out there and see everyone else trying for that one defining moment!

      Like

  4. “All right, already” cracked me up! The flowers are great, glad you got out there, and hope you get to see them again. Elvis is everywhere. I’m pretty sure I was behind him in a line at Myrtle Beach. It was all I could do to resist taking a photo!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Patti! If it was really Elvis, I’m not sure he would have been happy to have his picture taken. But if it was one of many of his clones, you should have gone for it. What’s the worst that could happen? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Your wish is so pure and simple, I don’t understand why it can’t be so. Great responses and this one hit home “But I got sidetracked at an early age by a lack of support and no guts!” Sums up my own life as well.
    Great photos, thanks for sharing. I prefer wildflower blooms over manicured gardens. It’s actually 80 degrees here as well. Feels more like May than March – so it’ll probably snow next week!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Mom! I prefer wildflower blooms also. matter of fact, anything in the wild is better than tamed. I’m already looking forward to snow as I am literally sweating right now. I overdressed this morning! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

