Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 9

Prompts and Challenges

It is once again time for Cee’s Share Your World Challenge which is more of a prompt than an actual challenge. As always, the photo above has nothing to do with any of the questions or responses but has been posted in case you are bored with my answers- in which case you will have something to look at! And, as always, I am late with this post. Will wonders never cease?

Have you done something you truly want to do today? No way. And I doubt this evening will be any better. First this morning I went to the doctor who is trying to figure out why I am anemic even while taking liver supplements. He suggested that I get a reverse colonoscopy (not the actual name for the procedure but I can’t remember what it is called) where they put a tube down your throat and take a culture to find out what is going on. He mentioned the possibility of Celiac disease. Then I met my wife and her brother at the house we just moved out of where they will be cleaning and making repairs to list it for sale. Then I came to my office and am now sitting behind my desk ignoring my work because this is much more interesting for me. Tonight, at home, the unpacking continues. Here is a portion of our new living room, shot with my iphone:

IMG_1724

What can you help the world with? We try to help the world one person at a time. Instead of an engagement ring, when Lynn accepted my proposal, she asked me to donate to Smile Train instead, which we did for several years. At Christmas time we hit the streets and donate money and time to the homeless. My  personal quest is to make people laugh or, at least, smile when I meet them. I understand I might be a bit too much for some at times- but I came from a rather dark place and do not wish to ever go back.

If life was ‘just a bowl of cherries’… which fruit other than a cherry would you be..? I know the question is “IF life was ‘just a bowl of cherries’… but I wish to reiterate that it is not. Life is what you make of it and if you want to make a fruit salad, good luck to you. I really do hope you succeed. I would choose not to be a fruit, but I wouldn’t mind if there were more grapes to make wine with!

Quotes List: At least three of your favorite quotes? 

The toilets at a local police station have been stolen. Police say they have nothing to go on. ~~ Ronnie Barker 

A rich man is nothing but a poor man with money. ~~ W. C. Fields 

And my absolute, all-time, favorite:

I once had a rose named after me and I was very flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: no good in a bed, but fine up against a wall. ~~ Eleanor Roosevelt

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful that we have some amazing friends and family who went above and beyond in helping us with this move. When my wife and I were ready to collapse Saturday night, they continued on, and then returned Sunday for even more punishment. And I am looking forward to getting out to Death Valley this week for the desert wildflowers that, I hope, have not yet peaked!

 

56 thoughts on “Cee’s Share Your World – 2016 Week 9

  1. Moving is very physically demanding to begin with, but layering onto it the fact you are chronically anemic is no small achievement. Hope it’s found to be a minor and simple fix.

    I really like the first photo. The branches of the tree look like they are covered in barbed wire 🙂

    You and your wife Linda sound like very special people 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Joanne. That’s what I thought, too, when I first saw the photo. That it was barbed wire. But it was actually Christmas lights. Shot in November of last year. Oh, and my wife’s name is Melinda, which she hates. Linda would be the logical nickname, but I call her Lynn. Her preference as she dislikes her given name. Her family can not get used to it and still call her Melinda.

      Like

  2. I enjoyed learning more about you. I like all of the quotes you chose and your sense of humor shows through in them. You’ve encouraged me through my own dark times and I appreciate that. Medical stuff is never any fun but I hope they find out what’s going on with you and that it’s nothing serious.

    Like

    1. Janna, I’m glad to hear I’ve encouraged you- even if it were only in a small way, that means more than any other comment. Thank you! As for my sense of humor, I’m not sure where that comes from. My father was pretty sarcastic and it was- for a kid- very hurtful at times. I try never to be like that.

      Like

  3. Moving is a tough thing to do and it sounds like you have some really good friends and family surrounding you. As far as making people laugh you succeed very well at that Emilio. I always knew you were a “good egg” and your charitable work proves it. My best advice to you is not to change a thing my friend 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m sort of embarrassed now about mentioning the charitable part as I believe you should always do that without fanfare or acknowledgement. I can tell you that it is all Lynne’s fault. If it hadn’t been for her I doubt I would ever have done half the things I now do!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your answers! We left Death Valley on Saturday and it was still gorgeous. In the 4 days we were there we saw an increase in flowers. It’s beautiful and I wish we could have stayed longer.

    Like

  5. Celiac! I’m gluten intolerant but I don’t have celiac. Best to get that checked out! So glad you had friends to help during the move. Thanks for sharing all this about you….how wonderful that you are so charitable! That’s so nice to hear!

    Like

  6. The toilets at a local police station have been stolen. Police say they have nothing to go on. ~~ Ronnie Barker —> split my sides laughing on this one!!! XD XD XD

    Like

  7. A tube down your throat, sounds painful. Hope everything will go well with you, I am sure it will. Feel better soon, Emilio! Thank you for bring laughter and humor to us, and bringing comforts to homeless people. 🙂 Take care, Emilio.

    Like

  8. Great responses…you made me smile:) sorry to hear about the tube down your throat yikes, but wouldn’t celiac cause intestinal problems? Ok tmi sorry. Maybe you are not absorbing the iron? anyway, good luck with the move and the wildflowers – looking forward to the photos.

    Like

  9. So much to respond to in this post, Emilio. I was going to comment on the Wall to Wall Awards, but I’ll just make one long comment:
    * So glad that the move went well and that you have such wonderful friends
    * Love the image of the new home! Hope we get to see more 🙂
    * Please check out that anemia!! (that’s the NP in me writing)
    * You and your wife are to emulated with your giving. Thanks for what you do for others
    * The quotes are wonderful, especially the one by Eleanor.
    Hope you find time to breathe!

    Like

    1. *The move went well, but the friends disappeared when it was time to unpack. So we’re still dealing with that.
      *And there was only one image of our new home. I’ll let you guess which one it was.
      * The anemia is worrisome as it has laid me low these past few days. Most days I’m functioning fine, then it will just take hold and I can’t get anything done.
      *We should not be emulated. Lynn should be emulated. As I said, I just go along for the ride.
      * With that one quote Eleanor Roosevelt became a real person in my mind.
      *Thanks, Laurie.

      Like

  10. …I once had a rose named after me and I was very flattered. But I was not pleased to read the description in the catalogue: no good in a bed, but fine up against a wall. ~~ E. Roosevelt

    Hahahah… ummmm yea. Probably one of the best quotes ever.
    ps– lovely living room 🙂

    Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

