One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk 1and 2

Prompts and Challenges
Pioche NV week 1

Pioche NV week 1

So, I have not been keeping up to date with most people I follow online as I have become much more insular of late. I hope to break from this selfishness shortly. But ever since the first of the year we have been mostly consumed with moving and getting our home ready for listing. We still take one day over the weekend each week to enjoy a day trip for photos. Last week we traveled to Pioche NV, about 3 hours north of us. It was a beautiful day and not quite as cold as the photo above would make it seem. And since I just found out that Robyn of Captivate Me has brought back her One Four challenge this year in a revised and edited format (see here for info and rules on how to join in the fun), I decided to join in. I missed week 1 so I am posting both weeks 1 and 2 today. Above is my first attempt at a cold winter’s feel to this image of the back side of three deserted buildings in Pioche. The far right building is the old fire house. The middle building seems to be an old hotel or boarding house. And the third, the brick building on the left, might have been a store. I do have the front of the buildings from another angle and will publish them this Sunday or Monday. Below is version 2. I hope you enjoy!

Pioche NV week 2

Pioche NV week 2

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

46 thoughts on “One Four Challenge 2016 – Feb Wk 1and 2

  1. So glad you’re joining us Emilio and can I say Wow? Wow! I really like both versions.
    Version 1 is truly a cold day and I like the different lighting and feel/tones in both.
    Wishing you all the best with your move and enjoy your time out and your day trips.
    I’m really enjoying your photos.

    Like

  2. I think it is great that you are taking time out to enjoy rather than just staying on the hamster wheel of endless tasks associated with moving. I think I am fonder of the first version of the photo. Perhaps a bit warmer?

    Like

    1. That’s my favorite, too. Thanks, Sue. This weekend we’re going into Death Valley for Valentine’s Day! Because of the warmer than usual winter we had, the desert wildflowers supposedly started to bloom early. Hope we get to see some!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, we stayed here – in the hotel across the road (L) from this scene. Actually it’s the only hotel in town and it was very comfortable and a lot of fun! They still get big crowds and I hear Labor Day there is great fun. Book now! And breakfast at the cafe was good as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love both edits, and just the old buildings themselves. Great shot! Love the idea of a weekly photo shoot trip! We have done a few of those here and there and they are fun. It also gives me a stock pile of photos to pull from. At this rate, I may have more pictures than I can post. Anyway, look forward to your posts on this. By the way, I am just posting my Week One tomorrow too. We can just call it socially on time.

    Like

    1. Michelle, I have so many photos stockpiled that I don’t think I’ll ever run out of new images to post. And yet I keep going out for more. I just love our little adventures. Last weekend we went in search of desert wildflowers and found sand dunes. The fact that hundreds of other people had also found them on the same day did not detract from our enjoyment.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can so see this. We seem to do the same, lol. While in Barbados I took tons of photos, and not just of the wedding I was there for. I wound up with 800 some scenic photos outside of the wedding and there was a separate file for the crabs I stalked while sitting on some rocks one morning. Sneaky little buggers they were. So, yeah, I have endless pictures, but there is always more to shoot! And the bonus is when the person you are with enjoys it just as much:)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Marilyn. I’m letting my wife do all the packing while I’m at work during the week. I’m prepping for all the brute force needed when we move. We’re going to Death Valley this morning for the day and then the next two weeks there will be no traveling. The home will be listed March 1 if all goes to plan.We have a great support team (family) who is helping and hopefully everything will go smoothly. I’ve been posting mostly during lunch at work and scheduling the posts throughout the week.

      Like

  5. So glad that you and your wife are able to get away at least once per week. Having moved many times in my life, I know what a chore it is. I also know how exciting it can be. I’ll hope that there is excitement in this move for you, too.
    Buildings of old had much more interest that new buildings. As always, thanks for taking us along with you on your trips.

    Like

    1. Well, my wife says no trips this upcoming weekend or next but we’ll see. She says she enjoys them as much as I do so maybe if I pitch in a little more with the final packing, she’ll agree to a short trip. I’d even be happy with just driving down to the strip and wandering around one evening. And yes, I do love older buildings. So much more character!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Moving is so draining, good on you to give yourself a creative outlet each week. That is so important with all the stress and strain that come with moving.
    What an interesting building. I like both images actually, not sure I want to pick. I am enjoying the first for that great color on the right of the building and the natural shadows that feel inviting to me. I like the second images for its brightness and clean aged look. A great subject to work with. Looking forward to future weeks.

    Like

    1. My wife is more stressed than I am. On the way back home from Death Valley last night, she fell asleep. I ran to the local Chinese take-out restaurant and when I got back home, she was already in bed. She’s been facing the brunt of it but I hope to get a lot done myself today and tomorrow- and in between work on photos! 🙂 Thanks, Carrie, for your comments on the image. They give me the incentive to try something new!

      Like

  7. Definitely an interesting set of buildings, Emilio. I’m thinking I like the 2nd version and, in fact, to me, it feels colder that the first one.- a bright, bitter cold day after a storm. I’m familiar with those. In fact, we are heading into a storm tonight with a possible foot of new snow by tomorrow evening.

    Like

      1. We actually got close to 1 1/2 feet, mix that with freezing rain and it was pretty awful outside yesterday. Today? It’s beautiful with evergreens laden in snow and bare branches covered in ice. And since I don’t have to go anywhere today, it’s all good. 🙂

        Like

          1. Unfortunately with the climate changes we are seeing more of it here. Milder is not always better, unless it’s a LOT milder 🙂 It’s preferable to have snow storms rather than ice storms. We still remember the ice storm of ’98 that left many of us without power for up to 4 weeis … much of it at -20C. THAT was pretty awful.

            Like

            1. The only ice storm I remember lasted maybe a day or two but we lost some branches and maybe one or two trees in the entire town. No electricity outages. And when the sun hit, it was awesome. All the trees sparkled.

              Like

"I take anything other than 'you big pig!' as a compliment." ~ Albert Brooks

